Skip to content

The End

August 3, 2010

I have thought a lot about whether or not to pull the plug on my blogging adventure and about how to break the news if I did.  After much consideration, I have decided to stop blogging.  The decision has been a long time coming, and I have given it much thought.

As readers, I believe you deserve an explanation, but I find myself struggling to express all of my reasons.  There are so many.  The truth is that blogging daily is a lot of work.  And finding time (and money) to do household projects to blog about is challenging.  I also find myself comparing my home, my writing, myself to other bloggers which rips at my self-esteem and leaves me ungrateful for all I have been blessed with.  But I think the final straw was that I just lost the joy.  I haven’t felt fulfilled by my blogging at all lately.  It has been a chore, another task on my never-ending “To Do” list.  I find myself resenting the time I spend blogging, wishing instead that I was cleaning or playing with Edward or knitting or reading a book.

Life’s too short.  I need to pursue things that interest me.  I am a Gemini and my interests constantly shift.  Some may see that as lack of stick-with-it-ness, but I think it makes me diverse and interesting.  Sure I am a little flighty, but I am OK with that.  So, I am off to pursue new passions.

I do want to thank you so much for your support these last few months.  Reading your comments was something I looked forward to daily.  Your encouragement really touched my heart and I definitely wouldn’t have stuck it out this long without you.

~  Anne

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Keryl permalink
    August 3, 2010 2:57 pm

    When you find yourself wanting to clean more than do this, it is definitely time to stop! Well, it was fun while it lasted!

  2. Linda permalink
    August 3, 2010 5:17 pm

    So sad, I looked forward to it daily. BUT, I understand. Just email once in a while….ok? Luv, mom

  3. August 3, 2010 5:37 pm

    Dang! I’ll miss peeping into your life, Anne, and learning from all that you know. But good for you for knowing your own heart. You write extremely well (thought you knew that!) and compare favorably to the best bloggers! If you ever decide to do it again, please let me know so I can sign up.

  4. steven permalink
    August 3, 2010 6:06 pm

    Oh thats too bad. I enjoyed it daily and thought you were the bomb diggity

  5. darling hubby permalink
    August 4, 2010 10:46 am

    You did good hon. However, I truly believe that you are channeling Brett Favre and your retirement is only temporary.

    In the meantime, I won’t hold you to spending more time cleaning. 🙂

  6. Barb permalink
    August 10, 2010 1:03 pm

    Anne,

    I am bummed. I very much enjoyed reading your blog, even though I did not comment. I enjoyed your writing. You are a wonderful writer and I hope in the future to read more of your work.

    Barb

Leave a Reply

