Skip to content

Fireplace Woes

July 23, 2010

I have a problem area in my downstairs living area.  Truth be told, there are lots of “problem areas” in my home.  Is an indecisive, obsessive–compulsive, Type-A perpetual home improver ever happy with her abode?  However, there is one spot that has been bugging me above all others lately…our fireplace.

Something about it isn’t working for me.  Is the blue to bright?  Should the painting be rested (as shown) or hung?  Is it the ugly yellow oak that is off?  I can’t put my finger on it, but I do have some ideas on ways to improve the situation.  I think the mantle needs to be bulked up.  It is our planned project for August.  Stay tuned for details and reveal.

In the meantime, do you have suggestions for upping my fireplace’s aesthetic value?  I am a little lost and totally open to suggestions…

~  Anne

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Keryl permalink
    July 26, 2010 9:55 am

    Personally, I’m not wild about the blue. It doesn’t seem like it goes with the rest of the room. Maybe you should replace it with the tan in the background.

    Also, I think the painting should be hung rather than resting on top of the fireplace. I feel like trophies and vases should rest, but a painting should probably be hung, you know?

  2. Amanda permalink
    October 19, 2010 9:13 pm

    I like the painting, but I think it should be hung as opposed to rested. Also, as far as the fireplace goes, have you though of doing antiquing it? You could do a crackle effect or use a paint that would age it. Another thing that looks beautiful is mosaic tiles. It is a timely and can be costly process, but the end result can look priceless if done right. You should google image search.

  3. Yevgenia permalink
    August 9, 2012 4:17 pm

    For me the honey-brown colour of the wood around the fireplace creates too country-looking space. If this is not your aim think about painting it black or white/ off-white/ very light grey or blue

Leave a Reply

