Skip to content

Picture Perfect Design – Tulips

July 21, 2010

Okay, so I cheated…a little.  I can do that; this is my blog afterall, so I get to make the rules, right?  Right.  This week’s Picture Perfect Design is not inspired by an image so much as an item.  You see, recently I was watching an episode of HGTV’s Design Star (which is super boring and lame this season, BTW).  The challenge was to design a space inspired by a flower.  The judges stressed that the design shouldn’t be about the colors of the flowers so much as the emotions they inspire and their basic essence.  I instantly knew which flower I would choose.  From the title of this post,  you probably know which flower I picked.  You’re right, it is the tulip.  Smarty Pants!  The tulip isn’t my all-time favorite flower (it is a Stargazer Lily in case the hubby is reading), but the tulip is a flower I love and one that lends itself nicely to this challenge IMHO.  Here’s a tulip snapshot for you as an appetizer.  

Image courtesy of Southern Accents

 

For me, tulips scream four basic things – spring, simple, fresh and structured.  Those key words were what I tried to keep in mind when I designed this living room.  

  

1.  The lines of this sofa remind me so much of a tulip, structured and curved.  I chose this color because I think it will work well as a neutral in our spring room.  

2 & 3.  I love these prints (found here and here).  They are bright, cheerful, inspired by nature, and fit perfectly into our room.  

4.  This ottoman in white will serve as the coffee table for our space.  I love an ottoman as a coffee table because it offers dual functionality and allows your space to be more flexible.  In fact, we have an ottoman as a coffee table in one of our living rooms.  

5.  Hard to tell from the picture, but this is actually fabric.  They call the color lime; I call it spring green.  Either way, I think this fabric would be fab throw pillows.  For me the sea blue and crisp green color combo is always a winner.  

6.  I really tried to keep this room from feeling at all heavy.  That’s why I went with white lacquer tables for the ends of the sofa.  

7.  The curve of this lamp reminds me of the shape a single tulip takes when placed in a bud vase.  

8.  White floor pillows will help keep the living room relaxed, inviting and flexible.  

9.  This chair is called “the Tulip chair”, I kid you not.  So, it was an obvious choice for the space.  I also think its lines work well with the sofa without being too matchy-matchy.  

10.  The wall color is the same spring green I referenced earlier when discussing the fabric.  I think it would really pop in a room with white crown molding and trim.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. steven permalink
    July 21, 2010 11:25 am

    Love the couch and ottoman. I have gotten Lily some stargazers on occasion. Eric, if you read this, its a big hit when i do

  2. Keryl permalink
    July 21, 2010 12:25 pm

    I’m not sure that you need the side tables. I think the ottoman alone would be a better choice, as its curves mirror the sofa’s.

    I think the only thing you’re missing is the perfect vase. 😉

  3. Lily permalink
    July 21, 2010 9:28 pm

    Love it. The sofa is great. I have to say your taste is superb. Stargrazer lily’s are my favorite. Luckily I have someone wonderful who surprises me with them.

Leave a Reply

