Skip to content

Two Ways – Anthropologie Hushed Hours Bed

July 15, 2010
tags: ,

I love Anthropologie.  And, I hate it.  Or rather envy so strongly that it borders on turning into sour disdain.  You see, Anthropologie has extravagantly over-priced wares that are so creative and one-of-a-kind-ish as to tempt me to completely abandon all budgetary reason.  Such was my initial reaction to this bed.

I have already revealed my obsession with clocks.  Well, said obsession coupled with one-of-a-kind-ish artisan-esque creation makes me swoon.  At least, until I saw the $2,498 price tag.  I realized there is NO way ever in any world or reality that I will EVER own this bed.  Period.  End of Story.

But, I can imagine infinite possible rooms for this dreamy bed (pardon the obvious pun).  Or rather, I can imagine at least two.

First up is a casual, airy bedroom full of sentimentality.

1.  The inspiration bed from Anthropologie.

2.  I love the pale colors in this bedding.  Even though the pattern is large, the cool, calming palette keeps it from being overpowering.  This is especially true since it is the only pattern in the space.

3.  Feminine and slightly opulent, the silver-leaf, mirrored exterior of this dresser makes it the perfect choice for our room.

4.  The details on this mirror make it a statement piece unto itself.

5.  Every bedroom needs a plush rug for feet in the morning.  The color of this one coordinates nicely with our bedding.

6.  An extremely pale grey on the walls serves as a neutral backdrop for the room.

7.  Oversized, black-and-white family prints are the perfect art for the private space a bedroom should be.  You can easily make your own at shutterfly.com.

Our second room takes on a more industrial feel, drawing from the rust on the inspiration headboard.

1.  The inspiration bed, naturally.

2.  I kept the bedding simple and organic with a color that can work as a neutral in the space.

3.  I LOVE this industrial art I found on etsy.  It is a photo blown up and printed on a canvas, but it looks like corrugated metal.  Genius!

4.  These IKEA pendants provide great task lighting when hung on both sides of the bed.

5.  What industrial space would be complete without concrete floors?

6.  This metal dresser is too cool.  Seriously, if only I could figure out a way to work this into my traditional-with-a-rustic-twist home.

7.  Concrete floors in a bedroom demand a rug.  Since we already have a lot of bold elements in this space, I kept the rug really basic.

8.  My wall color choice is a little unconventional, but I think a bold navy would really make the other elements in the room pop.  Plus, dark bedrooms are really hot right now!

So, there you have it…one bed, two ways.  Which is your fav?

~  Anne

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Mike permalink
    July 15, 2010 7:56 am

    It was the best of times, it was the worst of times. I vote number one.

  2. Lily permalink
    July 15, 2010 8:02 am

    I am new to anthropology but have myself fallen in love. Althought, I mud say my wallet does not love it at all. My favorite thing in their store is dinner ware and accessories like vases etc. Great blog. I love the concept.

  3. Linda permalink
    July 15, 2010 8:27 am

    Number one for me…..will have to check out Anthro.

  4. steven permalink
    July 15, 2010 10:16 am

    When Lily goes to the store, I usually head to the Apple store 🙂

    Does look good though, except the IKEA lighting. Death to IKEA! 🙂

    • Keryl permalink
      July 15, 2010 11:59 am

      No death to IKEA! IKEA is the coolest store on the planet! Their stuff is like Legos for adults!

  5. Keryl permalink
    July 15, 2010 11:57 am

    Definitely #1. You’re probably shocked to hear ME, of all people, say that since I’m so more likely to go plain and industrial over floral prints. (In fact, you wouldn’t catch me dead near floral anything…) But the bed just works better with the first choices, and that mirrored dresser is utterly fantastic.

  6. August 16, 2010 10:38 am

    I’d have to say option no. 1.

    If you could use that bed finish on anything else, what would it be?

Leave a Reply

