Skip to content

Tragic Accident and a Resolution

July 6, 2010

There was a tragic accident in our house last week.  I gravely injured a member of my blogging team.  Granted, this member’s work was a little questionable, and I never really connected with him the way I had with the previous job holder.  But, honestly folks, it was an accident.  I dropped our camera on a hard laminate floor covering an even harder concrete foundation and jammed the lens casing while snapping photos of my geography artwork.  I felt really bad.  Especially when I realized the impact my clumsiness would have on our wallet.  See, in our household, a digital camera borders on a necessity.  I blog.  And, we have a little one who is constantly doing snapshot worthy things, evolving daily, and constantly undertaking adventures worthy of chronicling.  Plus, I dropped the camera at the worst possible time; right before a 3-day holiday weekend filled with memories and ample time for projects/blogging.  Ugh!  

So, on Friday, Edward and I scrapped our plans for grocery shopping and basic car maintenance for camera repair scouting.  Turns out, repairing the injury I inflicted was quite pricey – I got three estimates and all of them were basically the same.  In fact, it almost made more sense to buy a new camera.  

While I didn’t intentionally break the camera, this was a great opportunity.  You see, I never liked our old camera.  It was complicated and was loaded with way too many settings.  And, I never thought it took very good pictures.  I was constantly having to edit photos in editing software.  It was a lot of work.  I wanted something that was truly point and click.  I decided I needed professional help in picking out just the right camera, so I headed to a store where all they sell is cameras and accessories.  

Previously, I had this camera.  

Olympus Stylus 1010 (image courtesy of Amazon.com)

 

I explained to the sales girl what I needed:  easy to use, great photos and the ability to record videos.  And what I didn’t need:  a large zoom range, tons of bells and whistles, etc.  She showed me a couple of options.  I settled on this.  

Sony Cyber-Shot (image courtesy of bestbuy.com)

 

So far, I love it.  It recognizes your lighting and subject and adjusts settings automatically.  It also has a panoramic feature, which our old camera didn’t.  Thursday, I will feature my first photos shot with my new camera, so stay tuned.  

As for my resolution…I have noticed that my photos are less than stellar.  In fact, I am a little ashamed of the pictures featured on my blog.  I always blamed it on my camera, but that wasn’t entirely fair.  The fact is, I don’t know much about photography.  But, I have started to read up.  Moving forward, I hope you see improvement in photo quality.  I am vowing, here and now, to make an effort to take better pictures and to learn more about photography and photo editing.  

~  Anne

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Keryl permalink
    July 6, 2010 8:20 am

    Well, it sounds like the new camera is going to be at least a somewhat better fit for you.

    Recently, I went digital camera shopping as well when I had trouble getting my film processed. Unfortunately, even the low-end, professional-quality digital cameras (talking $500 or so) can’t capture half of the depth that film does. Not sure what to do yet, so I guess I’ll just keep shooting film until it’s impossible to get it developed anymore…

  2. Linda permalink
    July 6, 2010 9:35 am

    Good luck and can’t wait to see results.

  3. sherry permalink
    July 6, 2010 10:00 am

    Linda has shared so many really excellent pics of Edward with me over the years and I always thought they were very good. So my best to you on your efforts to improve on an already successful hobby!

  4. steven permalink
    July 6, 2010 10:25 am

    Oh man tough break. Sorry 😦

    I thought the photos always looked good to me. I’m not a photo guy at all, but it seems to me that some devices and photo software show up better than others.

  5. Mike permalink
    July 6, 2010 11:00 am

    I will wager that your pics will be just as good with this new camera or improve. Tough luck on the damages for previous camera.

  6. July 6, 2010 12:00 pm

    Thanks for the compliments on my photos. I am embarrassed to admit that some of the best photos of Edward were actually taken by Eric.

  7. Lily permalink
    July 6, 2010 8:57 pm

    I am happy that you got a camera that takes great pictures. I always love seeing them

Leave a Reply

