Skip to content

The Geography of Our Lives

July 2, 2010

Eric and I have moved…a lot!  In fact, until this house, we never spent Christmas in the same place more than once.  In our 10 years of marriage, we have lived in 4 states.  Recently, I decided to highlight the places that are important to us as a family.  We had a wall that needed to be filled, and I had the solution.

I found these “floating” frames online at walmart.com.  It was under twenty bucks for the set and Wal-Mart will deliver for free to your nearest store location.  I filled the frames with maps, printed from the internet, of places that are important to us.  The top frame features New Mexico (the state where I grew up), Pennsylvania (the state where we married), and Minnesota (Eric’s birthplace and where we currently live).  The bottom frame holds maps of Guatemala (Edward’s birth country), Texas (where Eric and I went to college and met), and Colombia (where our second child will be from).

It’s a nice way to mark all of the important places in our lives.

Happy 4th of July weekend!

~  Anne

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Linda permalink
    July 2, 2010 8:25 am

    Neat idea. Good for Edwarda,too.opens up lots of discussions.

  2. Keryl permalink
    July 2, 2010 8:47 am

    Good idea. I always thought that I might do this with rooms one day when I have a bigger place – one with a UK theme, perhaps one with a New Orleans theme and another with a New York one. I can see French Quarter scenes and Broadway posters in my house.

    I know! This is still a long way off, and I have many more places to go before I finalize my rooms!

  3. Steven permalink
    July 2, 2010 10:30 am

    Excellent idea. Agree good discussion for Edward

Trackbacks

  1. Tragic Accident and a Resolution « Live, Love, Decorate

Leave a Reply

