Skip to content

Finish Flip Flop

July 1, 2010

The title of this post may suggest that I will be waxing poetic about summer footwear.  Not so.  I am actually talking about my mission to transform all silver-toned fixtures in my home into oil rubbed bronze masterpieces – aka flip flopping finishes.  

Our builder grade home was blessed with two of these beauties when we moved in.  

  

They aren’t terrible.  In fact, I am really grateful that they aren’t the dreaded “boob” lights (illustrated below) featured in the rest of our home.  

Image courtesy of homedepot.com

 

While not terrible, the finish on the fixtures really wasn’t what I wanted; I longed for my beloved oil rubbed bronze.  So, I started shopping.  I quickly discovered that most ceiling mounted lights available today are A) expensive, B) not oil rubbed bronze or C) the afore-mentioned “boob” lights.  I decided that I was going to have to live with the light fixtures I didn’t mind but find a way to update them.  Enter my friend, spray paint.  

Because the glass on the light fixtures was easy to remove, I would be able to spray paint the silver band without any taping.  This was a big plus in my book.  

  

While the fixtures hang on the ceiling and are rarely touched, I decided to ere on the side of caution and prime the fixtures.  I used Valspar Spray Primer.  After allowing that to dry for an hour, I applied Rust-Oluem Metallic Dark Bronze and allowed the fixture to dry over night.  

Here is the result after darling hubby reinstalled the light.  

  

I really love the results.  Overall, I would say I saved at least $75 on both fixtures over buying new ones.  Not too shabby!  

~  Anne

5 Comments leave one →
  1. steven permalink
    July 1, 2010 9:48 am

    As always well done and done on the cheap!

  2. Linda permalink
    July 1, 2010 9:57 am

    You didn’t get your inventiveness from me! Great job.

  3. Keryl permalink
    July 1, 2010 1:03 pm

    You’re just so good at finding creative, inexpensive fixes for things! I’m telling you to make this talent into a side business. People who aren’t nearly as creative (or who don’t have a lot of time on their hands) would pay good money for some of your fixes.

  4. Mike permalink
    July 1, 2010 4:15 pm

    Agree with Keryl

  5. Lily permalink
    July 1, 2010 7:49 pm

    Great job! I really love the look

Leave a Reply

