Skip to content

Bargain Botanicals

June 15, 2010

I watch a lot of TV; too much in fact.  And I know that I have a little bit of a decorating problem, because I find myself identifying items on a show’s set.  I know the kitchen set on Everyone Loves Raymond is from Pottery Barn for instance.  And, I sometimes find myself paying more attention to how the set is dressed than to the dialog.  Such was the case one night while watching one of my favorite new shows, The Good Wife.  I noticed the wall of botanicals in the main character’s dining room.

Every time I watched The Good Wife, I would notice the botanicals and think “wow, I really love that.”  Then, one night, it occurred to me.  For a while I had been looking for the ideal “thing” to fill a wall space in our bedroom.  The wall lives between two doors & houses no furniture.  It was a big, blank canvas waiting to be filled, but I had struggled to find just the right thing.  Botanical prints would be perfect.  A wall of them, in fact.  Just like the wall I admired on TV.  Then, I priced such a wall out.  Let me tell you, a wall filled with framed botanicals is not cheap.  It really isn’t even reasonable.  The best I could find was $20 a pop, and I figured I needed at least 6 (preferably 9) to achieve my desired look.  That was too rich for my blood.

Luckily, I am crafty.  Over Memorial Weekend I heard that Half-Price Books was having a sale.  Everything was an additional 20% off.  My mind started to work.  You know what can be found in books?  Botanical prints!  Off to Half-Price I went.  Sure enough, I found a book full of botanicals for only $8.

Now, I needed frames.  A collection of 6-9 8×10 frames can set a gal back.  Unless, said gal goes to the Dollar Store!

The frames at the Dollar Store are not the most beautiful.  So, I opted for 9 unfinished ones for $9.  This allowed me to customize the frames to my space.  I painted them with leftover green paint.

While the paint dried, I went through my botanical book and selected my favorite pictures.  I used my scrapbook paper-cutter to crop the images to size.  All that was left was popping them in the frames and hanging.  I have to admit that getting all frames hung with precision took a little work and measuring, but I think the pay off was worth it.

What do you think?  Pretty good for $17, no?

~ Anne

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Lily permalink
    June 15, 2010 7:33 am

    Wow is all I can say! You are so creative. I love it. It is such a striking look. Nice work

  2. betsydrager permalink
    June 15, 2010 7:55 am

    Great idea- so impressed with your creativity

  3. Linda permalink
    June 15, 2010 7:59 am

    Too clever. Looks good

  4. steven permalink
    June 15, 2010 8:19 am

    very very good.

  5. Mike permalink
    June 15, 2010 8:23 am

    This just might have been your best to date. Take into account the savings, creative aspect, and just downright beautiful. Your comments were great too. I really think this is what your blog is all about. Kudos for you today.

  6. Keryl permalink
    June 15, 2010 8:33 am

    This is a great idea and worked very well.

    The Dollar Tree is the best for these things, isn’t it? I get a lot of stuff for my gift-wrapping projects from there!

  7. sherry permalink
    June 16, 2010 10:27 am

    Great job, Anne! You’ve given me an inexpensive way to frame 12 Laura Ashley botanical prints calendar I’ve hung onto since 1988!! Keep those creative juices going, girl!!

  8. July 7, 2010 9:58 am

    Looks great! Love that dollar store! Visiting from Thrifty Decor Chick 🙂

  9. July 8, 2010 2:33 pm

    It looks amazing, especially for $17! I’ll have to keep Half Price Books in mind. I always forget about it! I love the botanicals, and I LOVE The Good Wife!

  10. July 8, 2010 5:21 pm

    What fun prints- what a great book! This looks awesome.

Leave a Reply

