Skip to content

Inspiration File – Seeing Red

June 14, 2010
tags: , ,

Let’s face it, red can be an over-whelming color.  Done incorrectly, red can be super scary in design.  But, I love red!  Especially when tempered with crisp white.  Here are a few red rooms that got it right.  

Image courtesy of decorpad.com

Image courtesy of houzz.com

 

Image courtesy of Country Living

 

Image courtesy of houzz.com

 

  

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Linda permalink
    June 14, 2010 6:54 am

    First is way too cool, since organization is on my mind. I also like the third one and the last little ditty is a place I’d walk into!

  2. Mike permalink
    June 14, 2010 7:49 am

    Right about the color red being over-whelming but your examples show what can be done. Number two takes it near the limit but the others are the examples I like best.

  3. Lily permalink
    June 14, 2010 8:17 am

    I love number one. Just the right pop of color. I agree that red can be a bit overwhelming. I think your pictures show how striking and tasteful red can be when do right. The first pictures makes me want to go to the container store and organize our office.

  4. Keryl permalink
    June 14, 2010 9:32 am

    Oh, my gosh! This is what I was aspiring for when I first started decorating my apartment in NYC. Of course, red was not in style in 1999, and I couldn’t find it anywhere! Everything was bright green and orange (SO not me!).

    I really want #1! That would look great in a bright blue as well! I like #2 as well (except for the flowers). I could totally do that. 🙂 And I like the red bathtub. That’s so fun!

  5. Steven permalink
    June 14, 2010 9:55 am

    I like kitchen best

  6. sherry permalink
    June 14, 2010 2:42 pm

    Loved all of it except for the wallpaper in bath. Everything else is great!! That little shop would draw me right in.

Leave a Reply

