Skip to content

The Quiet

June 11, 2010

Image courtesy of http://severinghaus.org

 

Lately, I have been on a kick to simplify my life.  In general, I don’t lead an overly complicated life.  I work 20 hours a week, have a 3-year old, write a blog, am happily married, manage to tackle projects around the house, etc, etc, etc.  It sounds complicated when I type it all out, but daily it feels pretty peaceful in my life.  I am super organized, and I think that helps immensely.  

I have noticed, though, that I start to feel like I should be doing more.  This is what sabotages my simplicity.  It seems I can find the value in activities, things, relationships, but not the value in the abyss.  Why is that?  Afterall, isn’t the void one of the things that allows us to appreciate the abundance?  Don’t we all deserve quiet, peaceful time to reflect and just be?  Some of the best minutes of my day are the few completely silent moments I have to sit in my living room – no TV, no phone calls, no kiddo running around – just silence.  Why do I devalue that.  Why do I not want to acknowledge that I need it, that I want it?  

So, I have been trying to be more open about accepting that need in myself and respecting it.  And, making time for it.  Making time for it has involved letting go of a few minutes a day in other areas.  I have been wearing less makeup.  I have simplified my clothing – everything in my closet is pretty much mix and match solids for easy of dressing and I have streamlined my accessories.  I have changed my cleaning habits, focusing on doing little bits of cleaning as I go rather than a weekend whirlwind of cleaning.  I have also given up watching TV programs about which I care very little.  There were several I was watching because I always had.  No more – life it too short.  

In the process, I have found more that a few minutes of solitude daily.  I have found hours a week.  The struggle now is to make that time meaningful and enriching without making it overly full.  It is a journey, and I will keep you posted on what I discover along the way.  

~ Anne

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Mike permalink
    June 11, 2010 7:44 am

    Often it is not how much you have gained but how much you have lost. Time spent in quiet, peaceful activity is something you never want to lose because it is almost impossible to regain. Take some time today to enjoy yourself. Oh, by the way…….I have heard that hubbies make really good housekeepers. Get Eric a frilly, French outfit and watch the magic. Linda did for me and cleaning has never been the same.

  2. Steven permalink
    June 11, 2010 7:46 am

    I like to take a few minutes everyday to just sit and relax. Very nice and it is a stress reliever.

  3. Linda permalink
    June 11, 2010 7:48 am

    Quiet is good. Simplified is good. In the hectic pace of the last week, I often would just pray for a little quiet and time to myself. I am hoping this summer to “de-clutter.” We were going to begin with garage…..now, I’ll start with my closet and vanity. We’ll do garage as Mike gets better.

  4. Lily permalink
    June 11, 2010 8:46 am

    Great message! How easy it is to forget to relax and enjoy the moment. My favorite thing is to just sit in quiet with a huge glass of coffee in the morning. So relaxing

  5. sherry permalink
    June 12, 2010 9:50 am

    My husband commented yesterday that I’m seldom still. You are absolutely right. Wish I had done less cleaning, fixing, shopping for my parents & had just sat with them more and talked. Thanks to all for the wise words and the “heads up” for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

