Skip to content

Summer List

June 10, 2010

I know summer doesn’t officially begin until June 21st, but to me, if school’s out, it is summer.  In celebration of the hot, lazy quarter of the year summer occupies, I decided to make a list of 15 things our family should make sure to do this summer.  To be fair, this wasn’t my idea.  I was inspired by Kimba at http://asoftplace.net/ (post found here).  Here’s our list (as posted in our entryway).

For those who don’t want to squint, here it is:

  • Eat Outside
  • See Fireworks
  • Go to the State Fair
  • Eat Watermelon
  • Go for a nature hike
  • Run in the Sprinkler
  • Go Fishing
  • Play at the Beach
  • Roast Marshmallows
  • Go out for ice cream
  • Blow Bubbles
  • Draw with sidewalk chalk
  • Go to a baseball game
  • Visit a farmer’s market
  • Go antiquing

I am really looking forward to checking things off.  Did I capture your favorite summer activity?  What would you add to the list?

~ Anne

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Linda permalink
    June 10, 2010 7:28 am

    Grilling, for sure! In or out of pool, picnic by the river, sit on the deck and visit with friends or family and DRINK ICED TEA……I know, I do that all year long! Anxious to see others’ list.

  2. Mike permalink
    June 10, 2010 7:52 am

    Play golf with friends you don’t often see

    Plant stuff

    Stick your toes in a stream

  3. Lily permalink
    June 10, 2010 8:09 am

    Visiting the cool pines of ruidoso
    Taking long walks at sundown
    Watching all the great summer blockbusters at the theatre

  4. Keryl permalink
    June 10, 2010 8:50 am

    Great idea! I should come up with my own list!

    I’d like to go to another drive-in, maybe when my mom is here in a couple of weeks. She fell asleep when we went to one in New Hampshire last year, though…

    Also, I may visit the godbrats in Alabama again, which I’m sure will involve blowing bubbles and/or sidewalk chalk.

  5. steven permalink
    June 10, 2010 9:18 am

    Agreed on the blockbusters and grilling is a must for summertime. And enjoy the world cup 🙂

  6. June 10, 2010 12:03 pm

    Love your list! I’m looking forward to playing cards with good friends outside in the shade. Or inside. With good iced tea and much laughter.

  7. sherry permalink
    June 10, 2010 6:30 pm

    Find more time for friends, dominoes, and golf for Scotty.

Leave a Reply

