Skip to content

Picture Perfect Design – Blooming Tablescape

June 9, 2010

I am back with another design inspired by flowers…wonder what has been on my mind lately :)I have toying with the idea of planting a peony or two in my yard, and while researching the flower I ran across this lovely picture. 

Image courtesy of http://awaytogarden.com

 

I thought this would make a beautiful centerpiece for a summer tablescape.  Here’s the plan… 

 

1.  I like the white pop and feminine lines of these tealight holders.  I think a dozen or so sprinkled throughout the table would add ambiance to the meal. 

2.  I am not a matchy, matchy girl.  I love the spring colors in these glasses and the fact that they are so easy to mix and match.  These would bring lots of color to the setting. 

3.  Of course, our table must have our beautiful inspiration as the centerpiece. 

4.  For table linens, I wanted a crisp white background and pops of color.  This affordable tablecloth from Target sets the backdrop for our turquoise napkins and a runner made from fun, pink fabric.  I tend to struggle to find tablerunners I like, so I often fashion my own from fabric remnants.  Super easy & cheap! 

5.  I love the delicate doily design on these salad/dessert plates.  I think layering them over our next selection will help break up the strong color and keep the table girly. 

6.  Who doesn’t love Fiestaware?  Reproductions are so easy to find and they come in a rainbow of colors.  Isn’t this yellow great for a summer table? 

7.  Finally, this beautiful flatware completes our look.  Even for a casual table, I want good flatware.  It should have a heft to it in my humble opinion.  I love that this set is feminine yet strong.  Perfecto! 

Bon Appetite! 

~ Anne 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Linda permalink
    June 9, 2010 6:56 am

    Love the flowers and containers and yes, who doesn’t love fiesta ware?

  2. Mike permalink
    June 9, 2010 8:07 am

    All about the colors.

  3. Lily permalink
    June 9, 2010 8:16 am

    I love the flowers. I am sure Steve would tell you that I always want flowers in the home. They really brighten up my day. I saw a picture years back that was an old ceramic blue bird bath that someone had planted succulent in. It looked beautiful. Might be something worth trying in your backyard. Hopefully some day I can get around to doing it myself.

  4. sherry permalink
    June 9, 2010 9:02 am

    I love what you’ve put together, especially the glasses that harmonize with the flowers. Like the idea of the bird bath, Lily. I have an extra one.

  5. steven permalink
    June 9, 2010 10:17 am

    Flowers are like Bud Light in our home, best when they are in it 🙂

  6. Keryl permalink
    June 9, 2010 4:15 pm

    Oh, I guess my earlier message didn’t go through. (The Internet went down at work.)

    I thought the glasses were especially intriguing, and I had never heard of Fiestaware. But from what I saw on the net, it looks fun!

Leave a Reply

