Skip to content

Front Porch Welcome

June 8, 2010

Our front porch is awkward.  It is small and not convenient to sit on, but it has this odd niche that looks like it needs to be filled.  It gets no sun, so it is really hard to fill it up with plants.  For five years, I have struggled with our porch.  But, I think I have finally stumbled upon an arrangement I like.

It all started when I bought a $3 chair from Goodwill.  It would have been $2.70 if I had carried it to the car myself rather than having them load it, but I was feeling lazy that day.  Unfortunately, I was too lazy to take a before picture, but I will do my best to describe it.  It was a squared off, dark wood framed chair with tweed cushions.  Basically it was very fifties, but not in a totally good way.  I knew the cushions would be cinch to recover and that I could paint the chair a crisp white.  Which is exactly what I did.

For a while this lovely lady lived in our downstairs living area.  But, she proved a little too chipper for the more muted, earth-toned space.  So, I decided to try her on the front porch.  As fortune would have it, the fabric I had used to recover the cushions was designed for outdoor, not because I planned ahead mind you but because I lucked out.  Turns out the sweet chair is the perfect fit for the front porch.  Doesn’t she look adorable?

That left the other side of the porch.  Much to darling hubby’s chagrin, I had bought an old milk container for $10 at a local antique store.  He thought is was a rusty waste of money.  I thought it was patinaed beauty.  Topped with the glass from a long gone decorator’s table and a pot of begonias, it suites the front porch just fine.

The final touch was a faux hydrangea wreath from Michael’s.

Now our front porch is inviting.  The whole project was a series of happy accidents that I would estimate cost me around $50.  But, it was collected over at least 2 years, so I never really noticed.  Serendipitous how it came together, no?

~ Anne

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Linda permalink
    June 8, 2010 8:20 am

    Great! You did well and again, saved money. Good job!

  2. sherry permalink
    June 8, 2010 10:03 am

    We may be moving; the front porch is small like yours; we have Jim’s mother’s old milk container, the glass top, and we have an antique folding chair that will be perfect there. I may not be able to make a pad as nice as yours, but I’ll come up with something. When I opened your blog, I was amazed at what you had done that will be perfect for our porch if the move happens. I was depressed with this front porch, but feel better now. Thank you once again:-)

  3. Mike permalink
    June 8, 2010 10:55 am

    Certain things bring back fond memories from the past. Wonder if an old wooden ice box fits in someplace?

  4. Steven permalink
    June 8, 2010 7:45 pm

    I like the milk container. What does Eric know anyway? 🙂

  5. Lily permalink
    June 8, 2010 9:01 pm

    Very nice! I love the fabric. I have never been antique shopping but seeing what you have done has inspired me to try it out one time.

Leave a Reply

