Skip to content

Gardening Novice

June 3, 2010
tags:

I know nothing about gardening.  I love flowers; I love plants; I love greenery.  But, I can’t seem to keep anything other than succulents alive.  Even ivy dies for me – which is really pathetic, I know.  However, I have a dream of a garden filled with flowers I can cut and bring into our home.  And, I have an ugly dirt patch on the side of our home that cannot look any worse than it already does.  Maybe growing plants outside will prove an easier task.

This patch sits outside our laundry room window and no one can see it unless they walk around the house.  So, I have decided to experiment with starting a cutting garden for myself.  The spot only gets morning sun.  I want relatively low maintenance perennials that flower or have beautiful leaves and work well for cutting.  Our annual Mother’s Day tradition is to buy flowers for the yard.  This year, I got a new lilac bush, a limelight hydrangea plant and three varieties for my cut garden – a lily, some heather and a blue delphinium (which is what you can see in the picture above).  The plan is to see what works well and to slowly add to it each year.

And here is where you come in readers…I need your ideas.  We live in Zone 3, so they need to be cold weather hardy.  I would love to hear your recommendations for flowers I should plant.  Do you have any favorites?

Happy Gardening!

~ Anne

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Steven permalink
    June 3, 2010 7:47 am

    I know that we have some native plants that bloom great in spring and summer and survive winter. They are on a drip so they just need a little bit of water. You might look into some native plants to Minnesota. Good luck!

  2. Lily permalink
    June 3, 2010 8:19 am

    I am no gardener myself but I have learned a thing or two from my mom. I know iris bulbs are really great bulbs to plant. They do really well in the summer and are pretty hearty. Plus they look so pretty when they bloom.

  3. mike permalink
    June 3, 2010 8:31 am

    Lily has a great idea on the iris bulbs. They come in dozens of colors and are very hearty. You might also try:

    Annuals: Snapdragons and larkspur

    Perennials: Winter Pansy, Chrysanthemeums, and the ever popular ivy.

  4. sherry permalink
    June 3, 2010 9:37 am

    A very long time ago, I bought plant books; one for inside plants, the other outside. Each may have different requirements for light, water, soil content. Bulbs produce best if planted in the fall. It’s not as hard as it sounds, but many suffer or die from our lack of knowing their needs. For instance, hydrangeas require acid soil (a simple additive supplies this ), but most other plants do not. So it won’t work to mix them with other kinds of plants. I wouldn’t try many different kinds of plants at first, just a few to learn their needs, and if they’re bought at a green house, the people there can give you the right kind of advice, or go by the book. The soil you have there is probably much richer than the soil in West Texas, so have fun with this new project. (What was the question, Sherry) 🙂

  5. Linda permalink
    June 3, 2010 9:43 am

    My resident gardener is Anne so I’ll try to remember to ask her.

Leave a Reply

