Skip to content

Trends

May 28, 2010
tags: ,

As in fashion, home decorating has trends.  Some trends are merely fads that come & go, but some are longer lasting and actually change the way we decorate.  There are some trends I love – like open concept rooms and the decline in the popularity of wallpaper replaced by paint.  But, there are trends that just don’t connect with me.  Below are 3 I struggle with. 

Empty frames on the wall.  I guess I am too right-brained to be comfortable with this.  I always want to fill the frames in with something.  I get that the frame can be more beautiful than the content, but eliminating the content all together strikes me as odd. 

Image courtesy of http://manolohome.com

 

Antlers – Antlers are EVERYWHERE lately – real ones, faux ones, cardboard ones, ceramic ones.  And frankly, all of them give me the heebie jeebies.  They remind me of bull skulls, and the only time skulls are permissable in my home as decor is at Halloween. 

Image courtesy of http://theidesignbox.com

 

Owls – What is the obsession with owls as of late?  They are everywhere.  I find birds kinda creepy.  I like them outside on my deck or in my yard, but those beady eyes definitely don’t need to be staring at me at night while I try to fall asleep. 

Image courtesy of Apartment Therapy

 

I guess the key to incorporating trends into one’s home is to choose carefully & not be pressured by what is popular.  Classic with a pop of trendiness has always worked best for me.  What are some trends in decorating you love or loathe? 

Happy Friday! 

~ Anne

7 Comments leave one →
  1. linda permalink
    May 28, 2010 7:51 am

    what am I missing? Was I to go to link to see 31? I only saw 3. Glad you are feeling well! I didn’t know owls were popular (we are late seeing trends in N.M.!) I’m with you….no empty frames and certainly no antlers!

  2. Keryl permalink
    May 28, 2010 8:56 am

    Oh, I agree completely! What is the point of having empty frames? And antlers, really? Only if you live on a ranch AND you’ve actually shot the animal that the antlers came from.

    Trend I do like – Those collage frames that group all of your photos together. It gives you a nice focal point against a wall rather than cluttering it up with lots of individual frames.

    Trend I don’t like – Humongous gaudy prints on bedding! Target has tons of that these days (http://www.target.com/DwellStudio®-Target®-Bedding-Collections-Designers/b/ref=sc_iw_r_1_0_1041482?node=404152011). They are so huge and so bright that I’m surprised that they don’t keep the owners awake at night! It’s like airplane passengers could look down and clearly make out the flowers on some of those comforters…

    How did everything go yesterday? I hope you’re feeling better now!

  3. sherry permalink
    May 28, 2010 1:18 pm

    Looks like they were reaching for something and really missed their mark (empty frames)!! In ref to Keryl’s comments, I find a lot of the fabric patterns and colors now are a repeat of the 70’s. Can’t stand it!!!!! BUT I LOVE everything in black & white photo #2. Reserving judgment of the antlers although the contrast is striking. Sorry if you haven’t felt well, Missy. Hope your weekend is great!

  4. steven permalink
    May 28, 2010 2:00 pm

    I dont know if its a trend or not but I do love flat screens mounted on walls. Gives a real neat clean look i think

  5. Lily permalink
    May 28, 2010 7:43 pm

    I completely don’t understand these fads. I think items in the home should represent some part of who you are.

Leave a Reply

