Skip to content

Inspiration File – Hydrangeas

May 19, 2010

This is my 100th post!  Can you believe it? 

This weekend we bought our first hydrangea plant.  I can’t wait to have beautiful cut flowers filling my home.  In the meantime, here some blooms that inspire me.  

 

The ethereal quality of this image just screams bedroom to me.  

  

1.  I knew I wanted lots of feminine, white and sparkling elements in the room.  This chandelier encompasses all of those.  I find it to be airy rather than over-whelming.  

2.  Rather than a traditional headboard, I thought a mirror would be the perfect choice above the bed in this space.  I love that it is frameless, causing light to bounce around off of it.  

3.  I would paint the walls a creamy yellow to bring out some of the darker tones in the hydrangeas.  

4.  I didn’t want any element of this room to be heavy, including the window treatments.  I chose sheer curtain panels hung an a silver rod with a gorgeous glass finials.  

5.  This mirrored side table is so luxurious.  It works perfectly in this room.  

6.  A plush, off-white rug underfoot helps ease one into the day.  

7.  These antiqued botanical prints harken to the subject matter of the inspiration for this space and continue the tone-on-tone color palette of the inspiration photo.  

8.  The piece de resistance of this bedroom is the bedding.  I wanted something light with texture and a heavenly quality.  This set fits the bill without breaking the bank.  

So sweet!  

~ Anne

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Keryl permalink
    May 19, 2010 9:23 am

    Congrats on your 100th post! I can’t believe how quickly the year is flying…

    Great job with the room! It’s feminine without being overly frilly. Very adult woman rather than little girl.

  2. Linda permalink
    May 19, 2010 9:37 am

    That’s a milestone! Love, love, love the flowers…..I like lots of color for flowers, but I also adore white flowers! Nice start to my busy day. hugs

  3. sherry permalink
    May 19, 2010 10:29 am

    Congrats on your milestone, and thanks for your dedication we all benefit from! Hydrangeas…I LOVE them, but they take special elements, so do a little research and the reward will be great!!

  4. steven permalink
    May 19, 2010 7:07 pm

    Looking forward to next 100 posts!

    i like the room but doubt you could pull that much white off with kids in house 🙂 be dirty in no time

  5. Lily permalink
    May 20, 2010 8:15 am

    Hydrangeas are so of my favorite flowers. They look so elegant and have so much personality, not to mention they smell wonderful. I love the concept of the room inspired by this flower.

Leave a Reply

