Skip to content

By the Book Design – Happens Every Day

May 5, 2010

In Happens Every Day, the author gives several hints at the decor of her home and sometimes even states details outright.  I got the impression that her tastes tended towards traditional.  And I knew she had William Morris “orange grove” wallpaper.  There is no William Morris wallpaper named orange grove, but there is Arbutus, which I am pretty sure is the pattern to which she is referring.

I decided to take her hints and declarations and design a library/study.

1.  Every great study needs a bookcase.  And, I wanted one with a sliding ladder.  I like that this one is weathered grey.  I think it is more feminine than traditional mahogany and keeps the room from feeling too heavy.

2.  I admit, I have a thing for sconces.  But, in my defense, I think sconces make a lot of sense in a study or library because they are so great at providing task lighting.  I really like the heavy wrought iron coupled with feminine silk that these offer, making them the perfect addition to our space.

3.  I couldn’t find any online retailer selling William Morris Arbutus wallpaper.  But, I did find this picture of the pattern.  I image this on all 4 walls.

4.  I wanted to capture the darker green in the wallpaper and I wanted the curtains to be rich looking.  These, hung ceiling to floor, are perfect.

5.  In addition to green, I thought orange needed to find its way into the room.  I like that the orange in this rug is subdued.  Plus, the subtle pattern won’t clash with the strong pattern of the wallpaper.

6.  Finally, two of these lovely chairs bring the room together.  The wood is reminiscent of the bookcase and the neutral fabric balances out the strong patterns in the room.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2010 8:56 am

    Love all of your elements.

  2. Keryl permalink
    May 5, 2010 9:07 am

    It seems like this would come together very well. I especially like the bookcase!

  3. steven permalink
    May 5, 2010 9:13 am

    I wish I had enough books to fill that case cause its really cool

  4. sherry permalink
    May 5, 2010 9:50 am

    I love the gray or taupe. How refreshingly different! I lean toward more masculine wallpaper (why??), but your selection is very pleasant. And Steven, if you completely fill a bookcase with books, it can be boring. It’s a great place to display favorite things along with a few books 🙂

  5. Linda permalink
    May 5, 2010 1:43 pm

    bookcase seems to be a hit!

Leave a Reply

