Skip to content

Let There Be Lit – Happens Every Day

May 4, 2010

I can hear my husband inwardly groan when I tell him I am reading a book about a couple going through a divorce.  These types of reading selections tend to make me needy – a trait men love in women.  But this book actually had the opposite effect – it made me feel deeply content in my marriage for all of the things it is and all of the things it is not.

Happens Every Day is the story of the end of an 8-year marriage involving 2 small children.  It is heartbreaking and really common.  There are few clear explanations as to why the husband chooses to leave the marriage.  There are hints that the marriage could have been saved, but ultimately, that isn’t the outcome.  The power of this book is in the commonness of it and the honesty.  It is raw and non-judgemental.  The author tries to remain objective about the loss of her husband to another woman without being cold or removed about the pain.  She walks the tightrope of honesty without blame really well.  I suspect she does so in part to protect her two children.

For me, the book was actually surprisingly optimistic.  I had a good cry at her pain, but I appreciated so much that Eric isn’t her husband.  The way the author’s marriage worked, day in and day our, and the way it ended had nothing to do with mine.  In that, I found great comfort.  Each marriage is so unique.  I feel blessed that I have found a balance in one that makes me feel happy, safe and loved.

~ Anne

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Linda permalink
    May 4, 2010 7:47 am

    good not sure I need to read a book that deals with pain right now!

  2. Keryl permalink
    May 4, 2010 8:32 am

    Ooh, doesn’t sound like something I’d pick up any time soon, but I’m glad you enjoyed it!

    Right now, I’m trying to get through “You Couldn’t Ignore Me If You Tried: The Brat Pack, John Hughes, and Their Impact on a Generation.” I know, not even in the same ballpark as your pick, but imagine all of the ’80s-inspired interior design possibilities! LOL!

  3. steven permalink
    May 4, 2010 8:39 am

    I’m reading The Family right now. Very good

  4. sherry permalink
    May 4, 2010 9:41 am

    I found your book review very enjoyable and interesting. Just for me personally, I wouldn’t have chosen it, but loved what you got from it, Missy.

    Whether anyone is a dedicated Christian or not, 1 Corinthians, 13:4-7 and the first three words of verse 8, give us the greatest description of the depth of true love, and offer solutions for many problems in marriage and relationships. Each line is incredible.

Leave a Reply

