Skip to content

Baby Blanket

April 29, 2010

While I waited for Edward to come home, I knitted a baby blanket for him.  I had seen one in a Pottery Barn catalog that I loved, so I picked out yarn that would mimic it.  I chose a pattern from Stitch and Bitch (a great book for anyone starting out), and kept my hands busy during the wait.  The blanket turned out beautifully.  We even used it as a prop in our first professional photos of Edward.

By the way, those first photos of Edward were taken by an incredible photographer in Albertville, MN – Jana Kunz.  If you live in the Twin Cities, I highly recommend her.  We will definitely be having our second photographed by her once they come home.

Back to the blanket…It seemed that I should knit a baby blanket for #2.  Problem is, we had a really mild winter.  I tend to knit a lot more in the winter; something about the cold inspires me.  But this year, it didn’t really happen.  I have started, but I am not very far along.  I also got discouraged when darling hubby commented that the yarn color – yarn I special ordered mind you – is a little feminine.  I wanted gender neutral since we don’t know if we will be adopting a boy or a girl.

I thought sherbert-y orange would work for either a boy or a girl.  What does Eric know anyway, right?

I need to get motivated.  Afterall, it would be really nice to have the blanket done and packed whenever we travel to Colombia.  Maybe this weekend…

~ Anne

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Linda permalink
    April 29, 2010 8:06 am

    love the color gender-neutral! Yum, looks good enough to eat. You go, girl!

  2. sherry permalink
    April 29, 2010 8:21 am

    To me, the color is feminine. Maybe you could incorporate what you’ve done with other gender neutral colors. This weekend?? I am very excited for you!! I know Edward is jumping with excitement.

  3. Keryl permalink
    April 29, 2010 8:49 am

    I have to side with Eric on this one. It’s a beautiful color, but it is on the girly side.

    I think you should finish this one AND do another that is more gender-neutral (beige, yellow, green, purple, or primaries). If you end up with a girl, she’ll have two blankets. And if you end up with a boy, he’ll have a non-girly blanket, and you will have a great gift for Camille or an upcoming baby shower that’s ready to go.

Leave a Reply

