Skip to content

Pansies

April 23, 2010

Pansies…for some reason every time I have said this word in the last week, my husband has chuckled like he is on an episode of Beavis and Butthead.  Even though this is annoying, I wanted some color for our back deck.  And currently, pansies are perfectly in season for Minnesota.

The first step in adding color to the back deck was to find a large planter.  I had priced these things out at the home improvement stores and they are pretty expensive.  Luckily, when Edward and I were at our first garage sales of the season this week, I ran across a big oil-rubbed bronze planter for $2.  Score!

After a trip to Lowe’s this weekend, the planter got filled with a variety of pansies.

Cute as a button, no?

 

Have a great weekend!

~ Anne

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Keryl permalink
    April 23, 2010 8:29 am

    I’m so not a plant person, but these are definitely cute! I like the color combo.

  2. Linda permalink
    April 23, 2010 9:12 am

    What a darling container…..wow you scored big. Great pot.

    • sherry permalink
      April 23, 2010 10:37 am

      Cute as a button, yes! A tip about metal or iron pots. A liner pot made of plastic, will keep your metal planters from rusting. Also you won’t have to use so much of an expensive potting soil (which I like) if the planter is unnecessarily deep; build up with rocks in the bottom, plastic planter on top, etc. You probably know all that anyway. Have a great weekend.

      • April 23, 2010 1:26 pm

        I didn’t think about the rusting, but I did fill the majority of the planter with cheapo landscaping dirt we had leftover from a previous project. Only the top 1/3 has the good soil.

  3. steven permalink
    April 23, 2010 1:19 pm

    oh very nice

  4. mike permalink
    April 23, 2010 5:26 pm

    Wish I could do the same with plants, etc today……….snow, yep snow.

Leave a comment