Skip to content

Picture Perfect Design – Breakfast at Tiffany’s

April 21, 2010

Years ago, my little bro gave me an awesome Christmas present.  

Image courtesy of moviegoods.com

 

It is in Italian because that is where darling hubby and I honeymooned.  And, since Eric and I are such movie buffs (we met in college through the Film Society), it was a really thoughtful gift on little bro’s part.  To this day, it hangs in our downstairs living area.  

While thinking about blogging the other day, I was looking at this poster.  It dawned on me that it would be a swanky inspiration for a cool-cat home theater space.  

  

1.  Audrey, Audrey, Audrey.  She is the “it” girl of the 50’s and sets the tone for our movie viewing hangout.  

2.  Oversized, swanky lighting keeps the space kitschy and fun.  

3.  What home theater set up is complete without a popcorn machine?  I love that this one is so stylish and chic.  

4.  Comfy floor cushions in a bright hue are perfect for kiddos lounging around to watch a movie.  

5.  I love, love, love the high glamor of these tables.  A couple of them bring glitz to the space and are so Holly Golightly.  

6.  Seriously, what is a home theater room without tripped out leather seating.  I like the deco lines and color of this set.  

7.  Lastly, glitzy sconces to provide low light for the room.  

I could so spend a night watching My Fair Lady in this room.  

~ Anne

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Linda permalink
    April 21, 2010 8:16 am

    Yeah, I think that was the gift of the year. Way to go, Steven. Cute idea…..looks as if you thought of it all……have to have right space for popcorn machine, but I love it and the sconces are PERFECT!

  2. steven permalink
    April 21, 2010 9:30 am

    Oh man I had forgotten about that gift. I tried to live up to your gift giving abilities. After all you did get me the out of print rolling stone cover with oasis on it 🙂

    I love the chairs and the popcorn machine. Two must haves for a theater room in the home.

  3. Keryl permalink
    April 21, 2010 9:42 am

    Now, this is my kind of room! (Says the woman who has a poster from “Coventry” next her couch, “Scent of a Woman” over her retro dining set, and “Moulin Rouge!” over her bed…)

    The posters, of course, are fantastic! But the popcorn machine, table, and sconce are indescribably perfect! You did an exceptionally good job with this one!

  4. sherry permalink
    April 21, 2010 10:09 am

    Great gift ideas!! Great job! The seating was just what we’ve been looking for, but alas, the price blew that out. Won’t stop the quest for something similar, cheaper. The posters; I LOVE that, but in a scaled down form because of our space. You’ve also given me an idea for solving the need for reading lights and low lights in our TV room. I can’t wait to begin working on these things. See how talented your are??

  5. mike permalink
    April 21, 2010 1:45 pm

    All looks good to me. The movie room, popcorn machine, and posters are great. However, a night of My Fair Lady might be pushing it just a little.

Leave a Reply

