Skip to content

One Item, Two Ways – Crate & Barrel Bed

April 15, 2010
tags: ,

When I discovered this lovely bed on Crate&Barrel.com, I knew it had wonderful possibilities.

First up, an organic, natural look in monochromatic browns where texture rules.

For this room, I concentrated on finding ways of bring texture into the space to keep the brown palette from being too boring.  From the quilted bedding, to the wooden side table, to the abaca rug, to the smooth bedside sconce, this space is natural, rich and calming.  The perfect finish to the room is the oversized sanctuary panel.  A total zen space for this bedroom.

Next up, a more feminine take inspired by the sea.

The wood in the bed reminded me of aged driftwood, so a seaside escape seemed like a fitting choice for our second room.  My first selection was the gorgeous crewel bedding.  It is so soft and feminine – makes me want to curl up for a springtime nap.  I really wanted the blue of the bedding to pop, so I kept the rest of the space light and airy – with the glass lamp and white mirror.  The rug provides soft texture underfoot.  For the palette, I choose a soft, robin’s egg blue mixed with taupe and oyster.

Which is more your style?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. steven permalink
    April 15, 2010 8:33 am

    Like the sea the best, get a bedside fountain and youre all set

    • April 15, 2010 12:22 pm

      The fountain is an awesome suggestion. I actually prefer the seaside one too. I like that it is a little more light and feminine.

  2. Keryl permalink
    April 15, 2010 8:51 am

    I’d definitely go with the second. I like the lamp and the mirror.

Leave a Reply

