Skip to content

Picture Perfect Design – Bogota Graffiti

April 14, 2010

Recently I have been researching Bogota, Colombia.  It is afterall, where our next child will be from and the place our family will be spending 4-8 weeks while completing their adoption.  While browsing online, I ran across this image.

I thought it was the perfect inspiration for an urban loft living room.

1.  I really wanted an urban feeling space.  A brick wall is the perfect touch to convey the industrial feel I was looking for.

2.  Love this art.  It is reminiscent of the graffiti in the inspiration photo.  Look closely, the image is actually every number 0-9 overlaid on each other.

3.  I would sprinkle these bulb lights throughout the space.  Not only will this bring in adequate light, but they bring a bright pop of color to the room.

4.  The vivid yellow in the inspiration photo was one of the first things that caught my eye, so I knew it needed to be an element in the room.  This lovely rug brings the color in perfectly and acts as a nice visual contrast to the bold black punches.

5.  I like the bold, black legs of this coffee table, but the white travertine top keeps the piece from feeling too heavy.

6.  I can’t imagine a better choice for a modern loft living room than a black leather sofa with square lines.

7.  Finally, these black side tables fit into the palette, and because they are so open they keep the room airy.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Keryl permalink
    April 14, 2010 11:43 am

    While I personally love the sofa and the end table, I must say that the art and the bare bulbs are particularly fantastic choices!

    • April 14, 2010 12:30 pm

      Thank you. The math nerd in me loves the print even though it is something that wouldn’t work in my home. That is what I love about doing this weekly post – getting to play with different design styles.

  2. steven permalink
    April 14, 2010 4:47 pm

    Totally see those lights in some loft like this

Leave a Reply

