Skip to content

Very Banana Bread

April 9, 2010

Today, my home smells like this…

That’s right people, I baked fresh banana bread.  And it is delish!  This is one of my favorite treats and Edward is pretty keen on it too.  This stuff doesn’t last in our casa, so I snapped a picture before we gobbled it up.

I got the recipe about a year ago from my favorite food website, allrecipes.com.  I love the site because of the reviews.  When 4,900 people give a recipe a 4.5 star rating, you know it has to be good.  And I have no problem sharing with friends and fam.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 2 1/3 cups mashed overripe bananas

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Lightly grease a 9×5 inch loaf pan.
  2. In a large bowl, combine flour, baking soda and salt. In a separate bowl, cream together butter and brown sugar. Stir in eggs and mashed bananas until well blended. Stir banana mixture into flour mixture; stir just to moisten. Pour batter into prepared loaf pan.
  3. Bake in preheated oven for 60 to 65 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into center of the loaf comes out clean. Let bread cool in pan for 10 minutes, then turn out onto a wire rack.

The only hard part is waiting for the store-bought bananas to get overripe (I usually buy 5 or 6).

Have a great weekend! ~ Anne

P.S.  For you readers who pay attention, yes, I can actually smell the bread.  My doc gave me a round of drugs that shrank my nasal polyps enough to allow me to smell.  It will be short-lived, but I sure am enjoying it while I can.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Linda permalink
    April 9, 2010 9:16 am

    yummmmm wish I could smell yeah, I often forget to do that with overripe bananas and I like nuts in mine. Enjoy…..you were up bright and early for this!

  2. April 9, 2010 10:00 am

    Your blog makes me feel good, without the carbs. Thanks, Anne!

  3. mike permalink
    April 9, 2010 4:52 pm

    Make a note for visitors from New Mexico in July. Coffee, this wonderful bread, and a tiny piece of fresh fruit at least one of the mornings.

  4. Keryl permalink
    April 9, 2010 4:52 pm

    Glad you have your sense of smell back, even if it’s just temporary. Banana bread is definitely one of the world’s best aromas!

  5. sherry permalink
    April 12, 2010 11:10 am

    We’re back after a week in the southeast Texas piney woods. Caught up on your blogs and enjoyed each one. Liked ALL the kitchens, and preferred the “four fixture light”. I can almost smell your banana bread, but we have to count carbs here, so the smell is all we can enjoy. Anyone have a low carb recipe?

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Very Banana Bread « Live, Love, Decorate -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

