Skip to content

Prepping for Spring – Bring in some green

April 6, 2010

The nice weather in Minnesota as of late has given me a bad case of spring fever.  Since my garden daylilies and hostas aren’t really blooming yet, I decided to compensate by sprucing up the inside of house with some new plants and to give a facelift to some old favorites.

I replanted my jade and violets in new pots that look more spring-y than their original plain terracotta ones.  They are now atop the black dresser in our entryway (sidenote – a dresser in the entryway is awesome for stashing gloves, scarves, dog leashes, etc.) giving the area a color boost.  Now, I just need to convince my violets to bloom.

I got these beauties at Home Depot this weekend.  The salesman assured me they would grow inside year-round.  I am not sure I believe him, but they were less than a nice bouquet of flowers and I should get at least a few months of joy from them.  They sit in the awkward space behind my kitchen sink in a half-price easter basket I snagged from Target.

The best part of the hydrangeas is that I can cut them and have flowers throughout the house.  Remember my old dining room buffet display?

It was a little dark and fall-ish.  I wanted something lighter and airy for spring.

I gathered all of the white vessels I could find in our house and filled in with some from Goodwill.  I then added a couple of hydrangea and fern cuttings.  Lovely!

Finally, I added a touch of spring to our bedroom window.

I picked up this little creamer a couple of months ago.  I love peach lustreware, but wasn’t sure where I would use this little guy.  Then I saw the tiniest succulents ever when at Home Depot.  They are perfect!

Have you made any easy spring updates?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. steven permalink
    April 6, 2010 9:05 am

    Lily and I have been getting the yard ready for spring (cleaning up leaves trimming etc) so we are right there with you. Needed the nice pics this morning to brighten day after duke win 😦

  2. Linda permalink
    April 6, 2010 9:30 am

    Yeah, we actually did away with some of the faded pillows on the kitchen windowseat and filled in with potted plants. Looked good anyway, and then a friend gave us Easter lily and another gave us beautiful pink tulips and I LOVE my windowseat now. Granny used to have a peach lusterware coffee cup, I seem to remember. Hmmmmm

  3. mike permalink
    April 6, 2010 12:11 pm

    I’m all about the plants, herbs, and veggies. Will need to wait until early May just in case cold and snow decide to hang around a while longer.

Leave a Reply

