Skip to content

Inspiration File – Cottage Kitchen

April 5, 2010

I like cooking the way I like reading – leisurely and relaxed, not hurried or on a deadline.  And there is nothing that inspires me to get culinary more than a lovely, cozy cottage kitchen.  These small, comfortable kitchens remind me of my Granny Faye’s kitchen, a place with only fond memories from my childhood.  Here are some of my favorite examples.   

Image courtesy of Coastal Living

 

Image courtesy of Country Living

 

Image courtesy of theletteredcottage.com

 

Image courtesy of Cottage Living

 

Image courtesy of Coastal Living

 

Image courtesy of Cottage Living

 

Image courtesy of Southern Accents

 

Image courtesy of villacapanne.com

 

Image courtesy of Southern Living

 

Image courtesy of villacapanne.com

 

Image courtesy of Cottage Living

 

Image courtesy of Southern Living

 

Image courtesy of cottagehomedecorating.com

4 Comments leave one →
  1. steven permalink
    April 5, 2010 8:15 am

    woo hoo first to comment!

    Kitchens are most social room in house. Really like the fisrt one. And a must for me is the island cooktop. Glad we have one, we really like it

  2. Linda permalink
    April 5, 2010 9:28 am

    Yep, Granny’s kitchen was always hub and many wonderful hours spent at that kitchen table. She would be so proud to be mentioned in your blog. I can just see her tilting her chin down and looking a little embarrassed! 6th one was more of Granny kitchen, I thought, but colors didn’t excite me.

  3. Keryl permalink
    April 5, 2010 9:58 am

    I do like the islands! I’ve never lived anywhere that has had one. My apartments always have tiny kicthens, but that’s OK since I use my kitchen less than any other room in the house. 😛

    Personally, my two favorites are #3 (the one from Lettered Cottage) and #12 (the black-and-white one from Southern Living). Those are very ‘me.’

  4. mike permalink
    April 5, 2010 1:42 pm

    Nice start to the week. Enjoyed the ideas and especially the different floor coverings. Gives me an idea for mom after she retires. I need to keep her busy.

Leave a Reply

