Skip to content

Privacy Please

April 2, 2010

I cherish my privacy.  I don’t want anyone poking their noses into my business, or in this case, their eyes into my bedside table.  I like to stash nighttime essentials as well as a few luxuries in my bedside table.  However, our bedside tables weren’t discrete.  They displayed our personal contents for the world.  Not only didn’t I want people knowing what scent of lotion I prefer or what book I was currently reading, but the whole thing looked messy.  This bothered me…a lot.  Until, I thought up a solution.

Solution – poster board, burlap and masking tape.  If I had used duct tape instead, that could be the title of an awesome country song.  Anyhow, I had left over burlap from a failed Thanksgiving decoration idea and what house doesn’t have masking tape?  I simply bought poster board, cut it to size, wrapped burlap around it and taped the burlap in place.

Then, I placed the burlap panel in the door inset and again used some masking tape.

I know people, it isn’t sexy.  But it works and no one sees the backside anyhow.

Now for the finished product…

Yes mom, I will iron the wrinkles out eventually.  But, I love that my private items are kept private.  And, I like the rough texture.  Plus, at $0.60 for poster board, it was a steal.

Have you ever rigged anything up on the cheap?  What were the results?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Keryl permalink
    April 2, 2010 7:46 am

    This wasn’t a household thing per se, but it involves tape innovations nonetheless. I drove my first car, my white Subaru GL, for 13 years. A crack developed in one of the headlights, and every time it rained, water would collect inside the light and the bulb would short out. I sealed up the crack with a piece of clear packing tape, which was practically invisible. It held through downpours and snowstorms and lasted until I parted with the car a few years later. 🙂

  2. steven permalink
    April 2, 2010 8:20 am

    Great idea! And cheap too. Even better

  3. Linda permalink
    April 2, 2010 8:54 am

    These days, wrinkles don’t bother me nearly as much as they used to! Clever and now I know you take after your mother in one area…..that tape looks like I placed it on there! ha

  4. mike permalink
    April 2, 2010 10:33 am

    I once tried to be cheap and install a toilet tissue dispenser in the bathroom 0f our first home in the Napa Valley. About 30 + years later, somewhere in Napa that holder remains inside the walls of a bathroom. I measured the hole incorrectly and the holder fell inside. There is a huge difference between cheap and inexpensive. I was cheap…….you are inexpensive. Great ideas you have. Keep the cheap!

  5. mike permalink
    April 2, 2010 10:36 am

    I just noticed that it only took 13 minutes. Wow you are fast too.

  6. sherry permalink
    April 2, 2010 4:17 pm

    Leave the wrinkles. It gives it character! Yep, I did something similar to a clear, glass insert in a small cabinet door in a computer desk, but used coordinating fabric and a glue stick. I like your burlap. Way to pick up on the time, Mike.

  7. April 5, 2010 1:16 pm

    great idea!
    My door is metal, but give it a good sand, a good coat of primer, and you should be okay!

Leave a Reply

