Skip to content

One Item, Two Ways – Room & Board Sofa

March 30, 2010

Inspired by the feedback on my Michelle Obama/Sarah Palin post, I decided to start a new post called “One Item, Two Ways”.  I plan to feature one object and show how it can look completely different in a room based on the accents you choose.

For my first installment, I chose this basic sofa from Room & Board in Pewter.

The first look is elegant but casual.

I started with the lovely art by Kate Birch.  The rug from Anthropologie was too perfect a match to pass up.  I kept the pillows and lamp simple since the patterns in the print and rug are so bold.  Grey and yellow is a classic combo.  The look comes off as elegant and feminine without being stuffy.

Next up is a more modern look.

I love black, white and lime as a color combo; to me, it is so modern.  The citrus really makes the black and white pop.  The very first things I picked for this version were the pillows (green, black and white, bird).  Next came the art from Z Gallerie.  Lastly, the rug and lamp.  They round out the look by keeping with our modern, graphic theme.

Isn’t it amazing what accessories can do?  It really inspires me to think that even though I might have the same sofa as my neighbor, there is no way we put our rooms together in the same way.

Which is your fav?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Keryl permalink
    March 30, 2010 8:29 am

    I like the modern one with the black, white, and lime, but that’s probably not surprising. You know that my tastes lean towards a more modern and geometric look.

  2. Linda permalink
    March 30, 2010 9:51 am

    I love the lime, black, and white colors best, but gotta go with first one due to the art!

  3. sherry permalink
    March 30, 2010 11:10 am

    I LOVE the framed piece in the first one. I could decorate a room just around that and throw in black accents. Thanks for all the “looking” you do for us and the ideas it creates. Now if I just had all the $$ to go with them.

  4. steven permalink
    March 30, 2010 1:52 pm

    i like the lime, black, and white the best

  5. mike permalink
    March 30, 2010 9:27 pm

    lime it is

Leave a Reply

