Skip to content

Picture Perfect Design – Twine

March 24, 2010

This week’s inspiration photo is my favorite yet.

I love the palette, the vintage feel and the texture.  This photo from Market Technologies was too good to pass up, and it is the perfect choice for a cozy bedroom retreat.

1.  This headboard with its warm hue and abundance of texture is the perfect backdrop for our bed.

2.  The cotton-linen bedding could be boring, but the subtle ripples give it visual interest.  This space is all about mixing textural neutrals for a relaxing retreat.

3.  Two Capiz pendants hung on either side of the bed bring a little whimsy to the space while sticking with our neutral color combo.

4.  White, linen curtain panels keep the bedroom light and airy feeling.

5.  This bedside table brings the first hint of color to the room with its sea mist blue paint.  I love that the piece feels vintage due to its chippy, distressed finish.

6.  Our color palette is fairly basic.  I would paint the walls a linen and keep trim crisp white.  Pale blue and warm sand accents round out the color story.

7.  A chenille jute rug rimmed in the room’s pale blue accent is consistent with our palette and desire for texture in this bedroom.

8.  How pretty would two of these faded throw pillows be perched on our bed?

9.  Last but not least, this coverlet, folded and resting at the end of our bed, helps break up the expansive beige of our bedding.

Aww…makes me want to nap.

~ Anne

6 Comments leave one →
  1. steven permalink
    March 24, 2010 7:26 am

    really like the bedside table

  2. sherry permalink
    March 24, 2010 7:49 am

    As I’ve read your blogs for sometime now, you’ve helped me to think “outside the box “(maybe an old dog can learn new tricks)! When I begin to redecorate this fall, I’m sure your influence will be seen. Are you sure you wouldn’t like to be an interior decorator??

    • March 24, 2010 8:40 am

      Thank you so much for your kind words. I would love to be an interior designer, but I don’t know that I would be very successful at it. I really enjoy the balance between work and family in my life right now. I wouldn’t mind being able to make a living blogging though.

  3. Linda permalink
    March 24, 2010 8:20 am

    Things that inspire you, really amaze me! I love the soft colors, esp. like the coverlet. Nice job.

  4. Keryl permalink
    March 24, 2010 9:10 am

    The rug really picks up the colors and the textures in the inspiration photo well.

  5. mike permalink
    March 24, 2010 2:39 pm

    I was wondering if you might do something in burlap? I’ve been thinking that if bed sheets were made of that fabric people might sleep less and have more time for other things. All of the folks that reply are serious about their feelings………I just feel the need to add a little bull once in a while, please forgive. I really enjoy the blog.

Leave a Reply

