Skip to content

Aromatic Atmosphere

March 19, 2010
tags: ,

Quirky factoid that some of you may not know about me.  I cannot smell.  I have sinus problems and this results in a complete loss of smell.  I have had two surgeries for it and can smell for brief periods following surgery and for brief periods following an intense round of medications for my sinuses, but by and large the smell is gone.

This is a bummer for me and something that makes me a little self-conscious.  I always worry about whether my house smells (because a gal can’t depend on a darling hubby or a 3-year old to tell her), if my son needs a diaper change and if my personal air is socially acceptable (in other words, do I stink?).  I compensate for this lacking by burning candles I can’t smell and wearing perfume I can’t enjoy.

Cider Donut by Yankee Candle is one of my favs! It is discontinued, so I buy it at my local outlet.

I loved Kate Spade when I could smell, so I stick with it.

I also try to open the windows in our home when possible, clean regularly and check in with those with working sniffers regularly to see if the air is clear (of stink).

But I am curious, what do you do to keep your abode smelling acceptable?  Any favorite smells you tend to gravitate towards?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Keryl permalink
    March 19, 2010 7:30 am

    I’m a big fan of Febreze products.

    I love the Fabric Refresher™ since you can use it on all kinds of soft surfaces, such as upholstery and curtains. I tend to go with the unscented and/or allergen reducer varieties: http://www.febreze.com/en_US/products/febreze_fabric_refresher_extra_strength.do.

    As for their Air Effects®, I go with Linen & Sky: http://www.febreze.com/en_US/products/febreze_air_effects_linen_sky.do.

  2. Linda permalink
    March 19, 2010 8:20 am

    I’m a sucker for good smells in a house. Short of bread baking or New Mexico green chiles roasting, my favorite smells for the house come from Circle E candles made in Mason, Texas. LOVE ‘EM! I like the clean, ocean breeze smells, but almost all of their scents work for me. I love their Bird of Paradise. I also keep Sweat Pea from Bath and Bodyworks in one guest bedroom. A gal in the Hondo Valley (for those who don’t know, right here in New Mexico)does these things called Scensy…..wickless that you burn in her beautiful containers. They have awesome scents and fill a house with their aromas. I have to say, someone gave me some scented sticks and if you change them every couple of weeks, it’s amazing how fresh they smell again and again. I don’t know what brand they are, but hint, Wal Mart ones don’t last!

  3. Linda permalink
    March 19, 2010 8:41 am

    I spelled it incorrectly….it’s Scentsy and you can google online…..several dealers are listed. I have bought 3 warmers for other folks and one plug in for someone and they are lovely. Now, maybe I should get ME one!

  4. sherry permalink
    March 20, 2010 10:33 am

    By the way, Missy, your taste is affected also, huh? I’m so sorry!! I believe that doing laundry daily or every other day, clean beds, bathrooms, etc. results in generally pleasant smelling homes. But I do enjoy nice candles and fragrances. My favorite is the Bath & Body plug-ins which are long lasting and the candle warmers that continue your candles after the wick is gone.

Leave a Reply

