Skip to content

Pottery Barn

March 16, 2010

I have a dysfunctional relationship in my life.  It is a love/hate relationship that has spanned over 10 years.  Nope, it is not my marriage.  It is my relationship with Pottery Barn.  At times, I have been fully committed (like when I worked there), and there have been times when I have been blissfully free of its clutch.  But time and time again, PB lures me back.

It is the lifestyle that gets me every time.  Every single room looks like a talented artist or a college lit professor spends hours in any given space, absorbed in their passion.  The rooms on those glossy PB pages look so relaxed, like a paper-thin pair of jeans that fits perfectly.  I begin to truly believe that if only my home looked like that, I too would experience relaxation and amazing artistic or intellectual prowess.  Alas, Pottery Barn is a tricky temptress always deceiving me.

For instance…

What do I love about this room, the beautiful antique clock face in the background.  Is it for sale?  No.  Even though Pottery Barn often replicates vintage items, this one is not for sale.  I have run across bloggers who have tried to recreate this look.  In fact, I have tried to recreate this look.  A version of this clock that I made is sitting in my garage.  But none, not mine or those of my blogging sisters, compare to this beauty that PB teasingly withholds.

And, there is this…

Uber-cute pillow that is prominently featured throughout the newest catalog.  Is is available for sale?  Sort of, you can order now but it isn’t expected until after June 17th.

Then they have bedding like this:

This makes me want to redecorate my whole bedroom.

There are items that are stunning but ridiculously priced such as:

The $79 a pop large woven baskets featured under this console.  And…

The swanky $699 mirror in this space.

But, Pottery Barn isn’t all bad.  There are items for which generic knock-offs can be found – usually at my beloved Target (pronounced Tar-jhey when I’m feeling fancy).  And there are items that are actually reasonable like…

and these…

Ultimately, I have come to realize that Pottery Barn is my muse.  I am inspired by it, but always left wanting.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Linda permalink
    March 16, 2010 8:40 am

    I, too, love the looks they create. Every time I go in one, however, I always think, “I shouldn’t pay this much for this.” (:

  2. sherry permalink
    March 16, 2010 9:19 am

    I loved all your examples!! But there will always be things beyond our reach, but many more that we can substitute and get lots of pleasure out of.

  3. Keryl permalink
    March 16, 2010 9:40 am

    Shame on Pottery Barn for torturing you so! But at least you’ve found comfort in your long relationship with Target. 😉

    I do like those candle things and that mirror, though!

  4. steven permalink
    March 16, 2010 3:36 pm

    Pottery barn and Williams Sonoma are great to look at but man they are pricey

  5. Queen of the Click permalink
    March 16, 2010 8:48 pm

    Well PB could be great inspiration because:

    a) The eggs – many people are making them from plastic eggs that you get from the dollar store. Here’s one blog:

    http://thecollinshome.blogspot.com/2010/03/thank-you-pottery-barn.html

    b) Many bloggers have posted their key creations too:

    http://redberrybarn.blogspot.com/2010/03/pottery-barn-key-display.html

Leave a Reply

