Skip to content

Pure Bliss

March 12, 2010

Recently on the radio I heard a psychiatrist talking about how obsessed Americans are with fame.  She stated that if one really reflected on their lives, they would find that their moments of true joy, of pure bliss came not from time in the spotlight, but from moments in their simple, routine, daily lives.  As she spoke, two moments of pure bliss immediately popped into my mind.

The first involves a cozy blanket, a lazy afternoon and our black cat, Rugrat.  When I curl up in a chair to read or watch TV and pull a cozy blanket over my lap, inevitably, Rugrat comes to curl up on me.  When he finally finds the perfect napping spot, which tends to be up by my neck, he settles down and you can feel all of his muscles relax.  Then he lets out this sigh like all of the air has exited his body.  The sigh is so peaceful and you can tell he is completely contented.  For me, being a part of that moment with him and knowing that I have created a world for him that makes him feel that way, that he trusts me, loves me and feels safe, is pure bliss.

The second pure bliss moments happens less as Edward gets older, which is why I chose an old picture of him as a baby.  I can remember the pure joy I felt whenever I heard him laugh without reserve or hesitation.  Those deep, pure, joyful belly laughs would instantly lower my blood pressure and erase all worries I had.  He does it less as he gets older not because he is any less happy, but just because that is what happens as we grow up.  But, I can still hear those laughs in my head from time to time and they make me feel truly content.

What is pure bliss for you?  Whatever it is, I hope you find a little piece of it this weekend.

~ Anne

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Linda permalink
    March 12, 2010 8:21 am

    Pure bliss…..when I am in the tub, reading. Pure bliss…..when someone, preferably Dad, is gently scratching my back. Pure bliss….an overnight snowfall in Dec. when no sounds, no movement….just a winter wonderland before my eyes and the clearest blue sky. So many moments of pure bliss…..seeing Melissa and Steven for the first time….seeing Edward for the first time. Going down the aisle to marry Dad. We need to remember those simple moments, I agree.

  2. Keryl permalink
    March 12, 2010 8:31 am

    When Fridays roll around because I get to wear jeans to work. I know it’s been at least two years that my office has been doing this, but I still get excited every Friday morning when I wake up and realize that I get to pull out a pair of real Levi’s instead of Dockers. I never feel more like myself than when a don a broken-in pair of 550s.

    Cuddling with my mom is another source of bliss! Whenever I go down to New Orleans, this is a constant activity. One of the highlights of my mom’s otherwise pitiful life is getting to cuddle with her first-born “baby.” My grandfather is always looking at us like we’re crazy, but that never stopped us from curling up on a couch together. I have broken her of the habit of trying to cuddle with me in public, though. LOL!

    Watching a really great stand-up comedian, the kind who makes you laugh until you cry. Those are few and far between, but when you find one, perfect bliss!

    Driving down across a waterway with the windows down – just you, a great breeze, and an ’80s song blaring on the radio.

    And eating a fresh slice of red velvet cake – pure bliss!

  3. sherry permalink
    March 12, 2010 8:57 am

    Being together with all my children and grandchildren, which only happens every few years.
    On a daily basis, the three of us truly enjoy being together; in the kitchen, working in the yard or going for a walk. We truly do not enjoy being apart. I treasure each day. And Keryl, enjoy those cuddles, even in public.

  4. Steven permalink
    March 13, 2010 12:57 am

    Bliss is hearing how Edward makes you happy

Leave a Reply

