Skip to content

Simple Wisdom

March 11, 2010

I “read” a lot of home decorating magazines and books.  Reading is in quotes because I tend to really look at the pictures.  I analyze them, get inspired by them and mentally store them for a rainy decorating day.  But, I rarely read the captions and paragraphs that accompany them.  This book was the exception:  

Country Living Simple Country Wisdom: 501 Old-Fashioned Ideas to Simplify Your Life by Susan Waggoner

 

This book is FULL of useful advice.  I couldn’t get enough of the cleaning tips, home maintenance wisdom and cooking ideas.  I actually got post-it flags to mark pages because there was so much useful information, I simply could not remember it all.  Everything in this book is simple and common sense, but there were so many things I didn’t know or hadn’t thought of like:  

  • When cleaning windows clean horizontally on one side and vertically on the other so you know which side any streaks are on
  • When possible, open food cans from the bottom so the settled material comes out and you don’t have to scrape
  • Run vinegar through the dishwasher occasionally to eliminate soap residue and keep glasses sparkling

I can’t give all of the tips away, but the book is definitely worth checking out.  

Do you have any simple wisdom to share?  

P.S.  I don’t get paid for ANY products I recommend.  I just post my honest opinions and hope you find them helpful.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Keryl permalink
    March 11, 2010 8:47 am

    Hmm, interesting! I’ve never thought to do any of those things. I’ll definitely use that can-opening suggestion!

  2. mike permalink
    March 11, 2010 9:15 am

    Occam’s Razor:
    “All things being equal, the most simple explanation is usually the correct explanation.”

    William of Occam

  3. sherry permalink
    March 11, 2010 9:56 am

    Looks like my kind of magazine! Vinegar is important in our house as a fabric softener since our Scotty has ecxema and we must use fragrant-free laundry products. Google the “uses of vinegar” and I think you’ll be amazed.

  4. Linda permalink
    March 11, 2010 10:27 am

    I love this tip…..using fabric softener sheets to clean shower doors. It works, then Sherry’s favorite, vinegar, is used to add the shine. 🙂

  5. Linda permalink
    March 11, 2010 10:29 am

    I also use vinegar in dishwasher occasionally, as well as running it through coffee and tea makers to clean out residue.

  6. Steven permalink
    March 13, 2010 12:59 am

    Very good tips!

Leave a Reply

