Skip to content

Picture Perfect Design – Controversial

March 10, 2010

Actual Conversation with Darling Hubby

Me – I really like writing my blog, but sometimes I wish more people were reading it.

DH – Well, the most popular blogs are controversial.  You should write something controversial.

Me – I write a decorating blog.

DH – Do a Palin vs. Obama room.

Hmm….

So, this week’s Picture Perfect Design isn’t even based on a picture.  It is based on Sarah Palin and Michelle Obama.  Can you tell which is which? 🙂

I know very little about Sarah Palin other than that she is from Alaska and a Republican.  My design is based strictly on those two facts and vague memories I have of her talking about ruggedness and self-reliance during the election.  So, for her room I went traditional.  Warm earth tones set the stage.  I think a warm khaki would be a natural choice for her with ocher painted on an accent wall.  The plaid sofa, leather club chair and dark wood coffee table all help set the mood.  Traditional botanical prints are updated with a woodsy twist.  A basic reading lamp and rug round out the space.  But, the cherry on top is the huge moose head; who even knew one could buy such things online!

I know little about Palin and less about Michelle Obama.  I know she likes J. Crew and hired a former writer for Domino magazine to help update the White House.  So, my design is based on J. Crew (preppy) and Domino (eclectic).  The palette is a vibrant pea green, cloudy blue, chocolate and pale gray for the walls.  The rug and throw pillow bring punchy color and patterns to the space while the clear table (doubled up to form a coffee table) keeps it from being too busy.   Sophisticated white accents in the lamp and vase brighten the space.  The gilded mirror will bounce light around the room.  Finally, this sofa is the quintessential modern piece.

How did I do?  Do I do the ladies justice?

Thanks to Darling Hubby for providing my most fun post to date.

~ Anne

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Linda permalink
    March 10, 2010 8:10 am

    Never would have guessed the topic, but you nailed the rooms! What fun. Yep, I would say perfect for both ladies. Good job hope lots of folks see this one!

  2. Keryl permalink
    March 10, 2010 8:56 am

    What an interesting topic! I don’t know much about them, either, but I think they’d both be pleased. 🙂

    Maybe you can make this a monthly column as well – you can call it “Polar Opposites” or something.

  3. March 10, 2010 9:36 am

    Think you captured the spirit of both. Why not do a series around other political figures, or even celebrities of all sorts? (Sending this to Twitter.)

  4. steven permalink
    March 10, 2010 9:52 am

    I like the idea of doing polar opposites.

  5. steven permalink
    March 10, 2010 9:54 am

    really good job too. i think it captured them both well 🙂

    excellent work

  6. Sherry permalink
    March 10, 2010 9:58 am

    Haven’t toured these homes either, but I think you did a great job. Guess Palin’s appeals to this ‘ol lady more, but your color combinations in Michelle’s has me considering them for us, with just a personal choice of a little more brown. Your use of the almost ’70’s colors (which I usually stay away from) is very updated, calming, pleasant. Kudos to you!! Please don’t be discouraged. We should pass your blog site to others.

  7. mike permalink
    March 10, 2010 10:48 am

    Nice job, well done and thoughtful.

  8. March 10, 2010 6:26 pm

    Job well done. Although I do feel like Palin’s pad is lacking something….perhaps some sort of patriotic item. 😉

Trackbacks

  1. One Item, Two Ways – Room & Board Sofa « Live, Love, Decorate

Leave a Reply

