Skip to content

Console Quick Change

March 5, 2010

Do have spots in your home that just bug you?  You can’t always put your finger on why, but they just don’t seem to “work”.  The console table behind our downstairs sofa is a perfect example of this.

I am not sure why it didn’t work.  Too much stuff?  Too much contrast between the light and dark elements?  Random blue vase for no apparent reason?

Anyhow, I thought it needed a change.  So, when I was browsing my local Target a week ago, I was super excited to find two lamps on 75% off clearance.  I thought they would be perfect on the console to create symmetry.  And, if they didn’t work I could return them.

I love the symmetry and the less cluttered look.  I think this new arrangement looks so much better!  Somehow, it seems more sophisticated.  And for only a few $$$.

What do you think?  Does the console look better now or should the lamps go back?

And, by the way, my basement is not nearly has dark and dreary as it photographs.  Someday I need to take a class on pic taking 🙂

Have a great weekend! ~ Anne

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Linda permalink
    March 5, 2010 9:28 am

    Certainly looks better than the leaning candle! Ha I like the second one much better….less clutter….BUT, the lamps look a little tall. Maybe if I could see the whole room they wouldn’t . I also have a thing about cords showing, though that cannot always be avoided.

    • March 5, 2010 9:56 am

      The height of lamps is adjustable. I actually put them that high to create a partition and separate our large living space. I am not a huge fan of cords either, but I don’t know how to avoid them in this case other than having no lighting. But the room needs lighting, so I have to learn to live with the cords.

  2. Keryl permalink
    March 5, 2010 9:58 am

    I agree with Linda. I like the laps, but they seem a bit tall for the space. I also think it’s odd to have a candle on top of a stack of books like that instead of next to them.

    And what happened to your wedding photo!?!?

  3. mike permalink
    March 5, 2010 11:55 am

    Like the change. Agree with others on lamps……may be a bit tall but cannot judge size compared to room. Keep ’em.

  4. Linda permalink
    March 5, 2010 12:48 pm

    I know, cords are pain. I have places where they show, too. Cool that lamps are adjustable. Great buy.

Leave a Reply

