Skip to content

Keeping it Clean

March 2, 2010
tags:

By now, we all know that I am a little obsessive when it comes to my abode.  I fret over whether or not paintings are centered, if the shade of the throw pillows goes with the rug, how to keep toys organized and out of sight.  But, I don’t think I am actually all that meticulous when it comes to cleaning.  I would like to be, but I prefer to do other things.  Don’t get me wrong, my house is rarely disgusting.  I just don’t always live up to my own expectations.  Here is the routine I try to stick to:

Daily – wiping down the dinner table and picking up (this includes toys, clothes, paperwork, etc.).  This is like Sisyphus pushing the rock up the mountain; it is a never-ending struggle.  But, I can’t stand clutter so the battle rages on.

Weekly – dusting, completely cleaning kitchen counters (like take-everything-off-them-and-wipe-them-down cleaning), cleaning the bathroom, vacuuming (thanks darling hubby), mopping

As needed – dusting the wooden blinds, cleaning vents and light fixtures, cleaning the rarely used guest bath, cleaning out cabinets and drawers, cleaning out the fridge and miscellaneous additional Sisyphean tasks such as laundry, dishes & trash

In reality, I usually fall short on the mopping.  It is my least favorite cleaning chore of all.  I secretly long for the day Edward is old enough to be assigned that one.  And I occasionally fall short on other tasks too, but I stick to the schedule about 90% of the time.

How does my routine compare?  Am I grossly negligent when it comes to cleaning or am I being too hard on myself?

P.S.  I try to use natural cleaning products when I can.  But, I have this nasty expectation that they actually work and often they fall short.  I am still on the hunt for a good environmentally friendly laundry detergent.  Any suggestions?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2010 8:03 am

    I have no housekeeping suggestions for anybody, and you especially intimidate me! But you also inspire me. Maybe I’ll go clean out a drawer . . . 🙂

  2. steven permalink
    March 2, 2010 8:47 am

    i see you have mr clean on your post. you ever try the magic eraser by that company? that thing works wonders on tons of things. dont have any enviro-friendly suggestions but love CLR for bathtubs.

  3. Keryl permalink
    March 2, 2010 9:26 am

    My post isn’t working!

  4. Keryl permalink
    March 2, 2010 9:28 am

    I’m actually quite impressed with your housekeeping routine. I personally do everything “as needed,” which means mostly when I start to see dust in the bathroom or tumbleweeds of hair rolling across the hardwoods. LOL!

  5. janey permalink
    March 2, 2010 10:10 am

    Mrs. Myers laundry detergent is great! I’ve been using it for 3 years

  6. janey permalink
    March 2, 2010 10:14 am

    Actually, the whole line of Mrs. Myers products are awesome. As aside, my old band mate Angela, owns an organic housecleaning service. They’ve had a very lucrative run using a variety of MM, Seventh Generation products, and homemade cleaning solutions. It can be done!

  7. sherry permalink
    March 2, 2010 10:44 am

    I live in a parsonage. Pop-ins can happen any time. I try to have the main part of my house “pleasant” if seen by company by 8:00 a.m. Just pleasant, not perfect! I like it that way for me, too. If some rooms are checked the night before, you’re on your way. Laundry, cleaning days, etc. have their schedules; pickup is when I walk through the house. Just part of it, huh? But years ago, I had a neighbor to say that my house was so neat, it made her uncomfortable. A great wakeup call for me!! We can make our families miserable overdoing things!

  8. mike permalink
    March 2, 2010 12:27 pm

    Safe for the environment and doing laundry? I might suggest a fast moving stream and a smooth rock.

    mc

  9. Linda permalink
    March 2, 2010 1:12 pm

    I can’t come up with cute comments like Dad! As you know, I’m on hold as far as the house……Dad does most of it. But, when June comes, time to do the “top to bottom” routine. I can’t wait. I’ll be anxious to explore new earth-friendly products. Sherry, at this point in my life, I don’t think anyone would say my house is so neat it makes them uncomfortable! I do think tidiness is very necessary for me, though. When the house is cluttered, I feel cluttered!

    • March 2, 2010 2:54 pm

      I totally ditto the clutter piece, mom. I can’t think when the house is too cluttered. That is a constant struggle between Eric & I since he is a little bit of a pack rat.

  10. steven permalink
    March 2, 2010 7:35 pm

    magic eraser for hard water stains works pretty solid. and kaboom for the bathrooms. how can you not like a name like that? 🙂

    cant remember what your stovetop is like but if its ceramic, ceramabryte is the only way to go, especially if its black

Leave a Reply

