Skip to content

Thriftin’

February 25, 2010

I love a good bargain.  Like a lot of people, I have to stretch my dollar.  But I love having a comfortable, beautiful home.  Lovingly decorating that home is my passion and hobby.  It is a hobby I am willing to invest time in.  And time, rather than money, really is the key to today’s post.

I love to thrift.  I have found all sorts of treasures at Goodwill, Salvation Army and thrift stores in New Mexico, Texas, Kansas, Pennsylvania and now in Minnesota.  There are 2 critical things I have learned during my adventures in thriftdom.  1 ~ Thrifting isn’t about instant gratification.  You have to be willing to visit a thrift store repeatedly to find just the right item.  And, you have to be willing to wait until it comes along.  2~ Creativity is the key.  You will very rarely find a thrift item just like you envisioned in pristine condition.  Sometimes you have to look at things and be able to see their potential.

Recently I scouted out a local thrift joint. Here are some of the treasures I found.

Spray painted creamy white, this guy would look lovely on a Thanksgiving table.  Martha Stewart would approve! (disclaimer: Martha Stewart in no way endorses this blog or its ideas.  In fact, Martha Stewart hasn’t even ever heard of this blog.)

I have no idea what these are really intended for (old card catalogs perhaps), but I think they would make fab desk organizers.  You could leave them as is for an industrial look, spray them for a pop of color or glam them up with adhesive and scrapbook paper.

What potential is there in this?  Infinite potential.  The frame is in decent shape and you have a beautiful blank canvas waiting for you to create a masterpiece.  Even if you have no artistic talent, you can do modern art or color blocking.

Sometimes you find something that is great as is, like the beautiful vase above.  But, don’t limit it to just a vase.  A ceramic drill bit and a lamp kit would turn this beauty into a stunning bedside lamp.

Finally, don’t be afraid to have a sense of humor and go a little kitsch. These stray painted in an eye-popping fuchsia would be an awesome tongue in cheek accent for a retro kitchen.

See…the possiblities are endless.  What is the best treasure you have ever found on the cheap?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Linda permalink
    February 25, 2010 9:37 am

    fun love that turkey idea BYW, had to type in blog again today…..not coming up on my email. grrrrrr

  2. mike permalink
    February 25, 2010 10:33 am

    Mama’s treasures.

  3. steven permalink
    February 25, 2010 11:36 am

    i like the vase, the turkey….scares me

Leave a Reply

