Skip to content

Welcome Home

February 19, 2010

My mom recently asked me for advice regarding the entry area of the house.  Her request was prompted by my recent post regarding molding.  She thought I might be able to come up with some suggestions involving molding for their dated entry.  Unfortunately, I actually think molding would be a bad move.  There is already a lot of wood in the space as well as an abundance of architectural interest.  See what I mean…

I think molding would simply compete with the vertical stripes of the chair railing. 

There were a couple of other things to consider when looking at this space.  The entry opens into the living room.  The living room is already painted a more contemporary Windsor blue.  The furniture in the living area is largely plum-colored.  Any color scheme for the entry would need to take that into consideration.  Additionally, the entry currently lacks a defined purpose.  Adding a function the space will help distinguish it from the larger living area.

So, here is the plan:

First thing – wall paper must come down.  I would recommend a deep ink blue in the entry.  Since there is so little wall space in this area, the dark will not make the area seem overwhelming.  Below, I show how the suggested color works with their current choices (the lightest is their living room wall color, the middle is the furniture color and the last is my recommended color for the entry).

Next, I would address the functionality of the space.  The console table currently in the room just allows for quick dumping and all of the photos create visual clutter.  I would recommend a storage bench instead with a neutral cushion.  I would change one thing about this particular choice – the hardware needs to be updated to be black or dark bronze to match the bolts on the stairway.

The space also needs a couple of functional accessories.  I would add the “C” hook (for their last name – Currin) next to the door and the rail of hooks on the wall opposite the storage bench.

I would also add a neutral sisal or jute rug to the floor to break up the dark parquet floor like this one from Pottery Barn.

Lastly, I would incorporate a few personal touches into the entry.  A set of three black and white photos of their beloved schnauzer, Lobo, hung above the bench would personalize the place with simple flair.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Linda permalink
    February 19, 2010 9:11 am

    Cool. I couldn’t wait to see what you did…you are right, no sense of purpose to space. (I hope people don’t think our furniture is that pink color! ha) I like the bench idea if we can find one that is narrow enough. Great idea. Like the C on opposite wall. Color worries me a little since you’re going into peacock blue wall in living room. So you are saying a dark navy color for entry? Thanks, I’m looking for a bench!

  2. Keryl permalink
    February 19, 2010 9:34 am

    Sound like good suggestions to me! Maybe they can find a bench with some element that mirrors the design for the door’s window. That would be great!

  3. steven permalink
    February 19, 2010 10:39 am

    Good call on the wallpaper coming down.

  4. mike permalink
    February 19, 2010 11:30 am

    I will lend my services for taking down paper, paint, patch, etc. Others will need to supply materials and furniture. After retirement (4 months) we’ll have the time. Looking forward to the project and thanks.

Leave a Reply

