Skip to content

Picture Perfect Design – Ruidoso, New Mexico

February 17, 2010
tags: ,

I consider Ruidoso, New Mexico to be my home town.  I lived there from 3rd grade until college.  My parents still live there.  It is a small mountain town in south central New Mexico.  A lot of people hear New Mexico and assume desert.  Not Ruidoso!  To me, it looks more like Colorado with its snowy peaks and towering pines.

I found this picture online.  It is exactly the way Ruidoso looks in my mind’s eye.  And what a perfect inspiration for this week’s room.

Image courtesy of Doctorlo on Flickr

I opted for a kitchen this time.

1.  I started with stainless steel appliances because they remind me of crisp mountain air.

2.  The color scheme is based on the three colors that are most prevalent for me in the photo: azure, a deep wheat and alpine green. I would use the green as my wall color with blue and yellow accents throughout the room.

3.  Stainless shelving serves as open storage around the room rather than upper cabinetry.  This helps the space feel more expansive.

4.  Cool white subway tiles with a hint of grey compose the backsplash.  They recall the snowy peaks in the inspiration image.

5.  I really couldn’t have asked for a more perfect piece of granite.  I love the colors!  Granite is a substantial investment, but this is a key element to tying the whole room together.

6.  Accessories help make any space.  The organic feel of this bowl and the crisp cleanliness of this crock set off the room to perfection.

7.  A largely neutral rug that helps bring some additional blue to the room will look great underfoot.

8.  Hickory base cabinets add a rustic appeal to the kitchen.

9.  Finally, these bar stools are the perfect hue and help bring the wall color to life.

What do you think? Those of you who have had the privilege of visiting Ruidoso – did I capture its rustic beauty and charm?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Linda permalink
    February 17, 2010 9:04 am

    Absolutely you did! How sweet to put us on the blog! For those who don’t know, I’m sitting in my school office and that picture is almost the exact view I have! How lucky am I? Great tying in of colors and textures, sweetie! I LOVE that granite and bowl!

  2. Keryl permalink
    February 17, 2010 9:17 am

    I like the granite as well! That’s so cool!

  3. February 17, 2010 10:01 am

    Beautiful job, Anne! (Thanks for skipping the chainsaw bears.)

  4. steven permalink
    February 17, 2010 11:39 am

    Nailed it

  5. mike permalink
    February 17, 2010 12:48 pm

    Boomshakalaka

Leave a Reply

