Skip to content

Kitchen Switcheroo

February 16, 2010

After you live in a home for a while, you begin to notice things that bug you, things you would like to change. That’s normal by the way! Many homes are built in a semi cookie cutter fashion. Builders often buy materials in bulk, so the finishes in a lot of homes look the same. In addition, a builder wants to appeal to the masses for ease of resale. It is only when we live in a house a while that we begin to imprint the space with our individuality.

I have wanted to make changes to our kitchen for a while. I would like nicer counters and the flooring has to go. But, both of those things are $$$. And, unfortunately, that is in less supply than my decorating ambition. Recently, I decided that while I couldn’t afford to make grand changes, I could make some small ones. I was surprised by how big the impact has been.

Our kitchen came with silver hardware. The handles were chrome-like and the pendant over the sink was a brushed nickle.

While many people would love this, it wasn’t really my style. I prefer something a little more rustic. So, I began the hunt for bronze hardware. Turns out, handles are $$$ too; especially when you need 31 – yep 31! – of them. Hello Ebay! I managed to score 31 for $30 including shipping. A word of caution if you try this at home. Measure the distance from the screw holes. You need to make sure that the new handles have screws the same width apart as your current hardware to avoid patching and drilling new holes.  It took me about an hour to swap them all out. I loved the look, but…

Now the light fixture was all wrong. Turns out pendants aren’t $$$. I was able to pick one up at the home improvement store for $17. Swapping it out was a little harder than the instructions indicated. It took darling hubby about an hour. But I love it, so that made it all worth it.

And here is a side by side comparison of the handles before and after:

I ended up reselling the old handles for $20 on craigslist, so the entire project only set me back $27. I think it makes a big impact for very little $$$. I love that the kitchen looks more Tuscan.

What do you think of my switcheroo?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Keryl permalink
    February 16, 2010 8:09 am

    Great idea! The new handles seem to go better with the cabinets’ hinges as well.

  2. Sherry permalink
    February 16, 2010 8:36 am

    How interesting! I’m over halfway through redo of my parsonage kit. Looked online for knobs, etc., soooo thanks for the ebay idea. Plus I was considering silver or pewter handles, but I’m considering black once again because of your pics. My prob, have to replace the hingers, tooo! THANKS 🙂

  3. mike permalink
    February 16, 2010 8:46 am

    Nice approach to a change in your kitchen. Clever idea and the cost seems to be a big plus also.

  4. steven permalink
    February 16, 2010 9:53 am

    looks good and done on the cheap. nice

  5. Linda permalink
    February 16, 2010 10:19 am

    you are sooooo clever. I need you!!!!

  6. Lily permalink
    February 16, 2010 10:01 pm

    I love the switcheroo! It is so nice when we get to change things up a bit for minimal cost. Great work.

  7. February 18, 2010 8:36 pm

    They look so much better!! (To me anyway!) NICE!

  8. March 1, 2010 8:10 am

    Oh it looks fabulous!

    Please stop by and enter my giveaway.

Trackbacks

  1. Some Great Decorating Ideas « Live, Love, Decorate
  2. One change can lead to another « Live, Love, Decorate
  3. On Track « Live, Love, Decorate

Leave a Reply

