Skip to content

KISS it Goodbye

February 12, 2010

When I started this blog, I had a plan for weekly and monthly features. I am a planner, so I even have a calendar filled with topics about which I would post each day. Turns out, so much planning kinda takes the fun out this. I started blogging for several reasons. I wanted a creative outlet and something that was just for me. I love, border on being obsessed with, decorating. And, I did have dreams of conquering the blogosphere and becoming the next Julie Powell.

Now that I have done it for a while, I realize that I have to really enjoy it for it to be worthwhile. It is a lot of work people! And, I may never be Julie Powell. I have to focus on doing this for me or I am sure to give up.

Truth is, I don’t enjoy my KISS entries. I struggle to come up with ideas and it didn’t make me feel all tingle-y inside.

The flip side of that is, surprisingly, I really like writing. I was shocked. I never liked writing in school, and it wasn’t something I was particularly looking forward to about doing the blog. But, I LOVE it! It gives me a chance to express myself freely. Plus, it is really challenging because it is not one of my strong suits. I struggle with my grammar, spelling, punctuation and making sure that the thoughts in my head make sense on the typed page.

So, friends, I am saying goodbye to KISS. I will, of course, continue to share tips as I come up with them. I’m just not going to force it. I am also going to give myself permission to occasionally write a post about living. After all, live is the first word in the name of this blog. I encourage you to give yourself permission today to let go a little too.

Happy Friday!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Sherry permalink
    February 12, 2010 9:55 am

    “Missy”, I didn’t know how you had the time to do it!! It was enjoyable, but it sounds like you’ve made a very wise decision and probably not an easy one. Never stop writing!! You have a GIFT that was obvious the first time I visited your site. Keep journals, make notes, and continue later. May God bless you and your wonderful and growing family.

  2. Linda permalink
    February 12, 2010 10:06 am

    I actually think you are a good writer and mechanics of writing can always be corrected. Joe is a decent poet and I consider myself to be a good writer, particularly as it pertains to my work. Bob, obviously is, and Lance certainly is. I don’t think Steven writes much now, but I recall some good writings from high school. Do you think it runs in the family? I can safely say, with a resounding “yes” from you, that I don’t have an eye for decorating! Keep it up and as I come up with KISS ideas, I’ll share with you.

  3. Keryl permalink
    February 12, 2010 10:10 am

    We understand. I don’t know how you came up with as many ideas for that column as you did. I couldn’t come up with any ideas to add to those posts…

    • Keryl permalink
      February 15, 2010 11:55 am

      By “that column,” I meant the KISS feature.

  4. February 12, 2010 11:08 am

    Most bloggers, especially daily bloggers, produce an inferior article once in a while, but you never did. Every post was a gem. With that kind of pressure, it’s easy to see how you could become overwhelmed. I hope you don’t give it up, Anne, because you have a lovely gift. Be kind to yourself and please write, and share, when you feel like it. Good luck — I miss you already!

  5. mike permalink
    February 12, 2010 11:36 am

    Sad for me but I understand for you. Perhaps you can target that creative idea in yourself in another direction. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

