Skip to content

Covet

February 11, 2010
tags:

I know it is a sin, but there are things I see in decorating magazines, on blogs, in others’ homes that make me covet. Here are some of my current lustings, none of which I will be able to afford in the forseeable future. 

Image courtesy of Pottery Barn

 

I want a sectional for our downstairs living area. It doesn’t actually have to be this sectional from Pottery Barn, but it does have to be comfy, neutral-ish in hue and slipcovered. The slipcovered part is where shopping gets tricky. But with pets and 1 and 1/2 kids, I feel it is a must. 

Image courtesy of Real Simple

 

I want a pantry. In fact, it borders on a need rather than a want. But, since our current house not only doesn’t have one but also doesn’t have a space conducive for one, this is a pipe dream that appears at the top of my wish list for any future home. 

Image courtesy of Cottage Living

 

I have always loved brightly colored doors. This shade of blue would be divine on our current home. Alas, painting a metal front door such as ours is a real pain and having it professionally painted would put a sizable dent in my tiny wallet. The dream lives on… 

Image courtesy of Old House Journal

 

Maybe it is the touch of southerner in me, but I love porches. I want a 3 season porch to extend the living area of our Minnesota-based home. I can just imagine curling up with a book on the porch spring, summer and fall. 

Image courtesy of Country Living

 

I want a collection of ironstone and milk glass vessels along with a beautiful place to display them in my home. 

Which leads me to my final want… 

Image courtesy of themarinerscottage.com

 

I want a cottage that looks like this, on 10 acres of land. And, I want the inside to look like it fell out of the pages of Country Living. Is that so much to ask?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. mike permalink
    February 11, 2010 7:45 am

    Thanks for taking the time each day to brighten my morning. That’s better for me than a door.

  2. Linda permalink
    February 11, 2010 11:04 am

    Love the orderliness of the dish display. All of the pictures look crisp and clean. Like them all.

  3. Keryl permalink
    February 12, 2010 10:38 am

    Oh, I can relate about the pantry! I have those DIY particle board cabinets in a corner of my tiny kitchen. I don’t keep that much food in the house because I rarely cook, but it would be nice to have more storage space for my Amy’s Organics soups and Ritz crackers!

  4. steven permalink
    February 13, 2010 10:12 am

    Ooh i can do with almost any of those pics

Leave a Reply

