Skip to content

Picture Perfect Design – Keryl’s Room

February 10, 2010

My friend Keryl has been so supportive of me while I write this blog. She reads and comments daily, has emailed links to her friends, and offered suggestions. I am really grateful. So, I was really excited when Keryl asked me to design a living space for her. She loves to travel, and London is one of her all-time favorite destinations. Here is her inspiration photo:

Image courtesy of Visit London Images

I happen to have an advantage in designing this room in that I know the occupant very well. So, in addition to taking inspiration from the photo, I used some of the things I know about Keryl to shape the design. I hope she likes it.

1.  I like the simple lines of this side table. Black plays a key role in this space and having a pop of it next to the sofa is a great start.

2.  The sectional is spacious and modern. The blue reminds me of the sky in the inspiration photo.

3.  I love the scale of this coffee table and the slightly retro feel of it. I also think the wood helps keep the room from feeling too stark.

4.  The tomato-y orange and the vivid blue in this palette come straight from the inspiration photo. The black is an accent color. I used grey as the main color on the walls;  it is such a great color for modern spaces. I picture it above a wide chair rail in black with orange below.

5.  This light is so cool. Keryl is a huge film buff, and I thought this would be a humorous touch for the room.

6.  For her coffee table, a couple of books that focus on two of Keryl’s interests – travel and movies. The books can be found here and here.

7.  This slogan/logo is everywhere lately, but I love the source. It was a propaganda poster used by the British government during World War II. As a rug, I think it is a great conversation starter for the living room.

8.  Throw pillows (found here and here) bring a graphic punch to the sofa.

9.  Finally, I added a personal touch to the space. All four clock faces have some significance for Keryl. The first is the clock on Saint Louis Cathedral in New Orleans where Keryl grew up. Next is Big Ben in London. Then we have the clock on Orchestrion Hall in Baltimore, where Keryl currently lives. Finally, Albritton Tower at Texas A&M, Keryl’s alma mater. Turning all photos black and white and framing them in orange helps unify the collection.

Keryl was looking for a modern, slightly retro space inspired by London. How did I do?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Linda permalink
    February 10, 2010 7:36 am

    How sweet of you to do for her. Keep working on Dad to snap our entry hall. Would love to see what you would do.

  2. steven permalink
    February 10, 2010 8:31 am

    Really like the couch

  3. Linda permalink
    February 10, 2010 9:54 am

    I know, for my retirement, come see me and on a LIMITED budget we’ll decorate my house!

  4. Keryl permalink
    February 10, 2010 10:48 am

    OOH! I LOVE IT! I LOVE IT! I LOVE IT!

    You know me FAR too well! The travel book, the World War II poster (which is my favorite era in history, and a project that I did in my History of Graphic Design class in grad school!), the movie lamp, you name it! You can decorate my space any time you want!

    From extremely snowing Bismarck… uh, I mean, Baltimore! LOL!

  5. November 16, 2010 12:34 pm

    living rooms should be decorated with style that is why i always get some living room decoration idea on the internet ,”*

  6. January 24, 2011 6:35 pm

    ~~” I am really thankful to this topic because it really gives useful information *,,

Trackbacks

  1. Picture Perfect Design – Rust « Live, Love, Decorate

Leave a Reply

