Skip to content

Giving Props

February 9, 2010
tags:

I might be afraid of commitment. See how my sentence was tentative; I can’t even commit to being non-committal. Yes, I have been married 10 years and own a home and have a kiddo – all of which are pretty big commitments, but I secretly cringe a little when I hang something on the walls of my home. I know about spackle; I know I can moved pictures around. It just feels so permanent to drive a nail or drill a screw into the wall. That is why, I like the prop. 

See how nice and casual the collections of postcards from our wedding site looks while leaning in front of our mirror. 

 

And how about this grouping of two black and white flower prints? I love how propping makes everything seem casual and allows you to layer items with ease. 

 

I am not the only one that likes the prop. Pottery Barn props: 

 

 

So do magazines… 

Image courtesy of Country Living

 

Image courtesy of Domino

 

And other bloggers… 

Image courtesy of Young House Love

 

Image courtesy of All Bower Power

 

How about you? Are you a prop master? 

P.S. Please check out Young House Love and All Bower Power for awesome home ideas.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Sherry permalink
    February 9, 2010 8:22 am

    I love your props! But I learned a long time ago when I was drilling a hole in the ceiling to hang a canopy, that it does take “guts”. But I also learned that manufacturers make lots of things to return a goof or unwanted project back to normal and it’s easy. Keep up! I look forward to this little break each morning…

  2. Linda permalink
    February 9, 2010 11:27 am

    great look and yeah, I don’t like making holes either!

  3. Keryl permalink
    February 12, 2010 10:07 am

    I like the propping, especially the second Pottery Barn picture. I prop some things, like my old license plates on the chest in my bedroom. Others, I go ahead and drill the (sometimes many) holes. It just depends.

Leave a Reply

