Skip to content

KISS – Use What You Got

February 5, 2010

Sometimes we all get the itch to switch things up, redecorate, move things around. Unfortunately, this urge often comes with a price tag. Before you run out and shop the next time you want to refresh your home, try looking creatively at what you already have instead.

The space between my buffet and the painting above has always bugged me. I could  lower the painting, but I like it being at eye level. Instead of lowering the art, I needed to find something to bridge the gap. I moved a plant in front of the painting, but then the tablescape seemed off-balance. So, I grabbed a big basket I had in the closet. The scale worked, but an empty basket is really sad, like kitten in the rain sad. So I decided to fill the basket with something I already had on hand – napkins. I took all my cloth napkins out of the buffet, rolled them up and created an instant bridge between the buffet and my still life. Bonus – I actually made extra storage space in the buffet by getting the napkins out of there.

Another favorite trick of mine is to fill vases with unexpected objects. In my entry way, I use my knitting needles as flowers in my glass and iron vase.

Finally, I refuse to pay money for vase fillers. Tubs of river rocks whose sole purpose is being placed in the bottom of vases or candle holders can set you back a value meal. Instead, I try to use up things I have around the house, like rice or coffee beans.

Works great and costs next to nothing.

The next time you get the itch for retail therapy, shop your house instead. Your creativity may surprise you.

Are there any things you use around your house in unusual or creative ways?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Linda permalink
    February 5, 2010 9:14 am

    Cool ideas. I have used tall candle holders to display objects, such a Venetian glass globe. I, too, have rolled napkins and places in baskets. Hmmmm will have to think if I’ve done more. I’ve seen wine racks with hand towels rolled up and stuck in them…..

  2. mike permalink
    February 5, 2010 10:37 am

    I have never been very creative when it comes to household ideas. One example that you might NOT try would be putting golf tees into the sheetrock of your garage. I used about 25 tees of different colors to hang my golf caps. If you never plan on moving, this might be okay and if your spouse is VERY understanding.

Leave a Reply

