Skip to content

KISS – Crock Timer

January 29, 2010

Crockpots were made for working moms. We use ours a lot in the winter for stews, soup, chili, etc. My mouth is watering just thinking about it. I love dumping everything in there and coming home to  a warm meal. But, I was short-sighted when I bought our crockpot. I just got a plain one with a ceramic bowl that lifts out. I didn’t invest in one with a timer. At the time, I didn’t realize what a mistake that would be. I found several recipes I wanted to try in the crock but couldn’t because the recipe only need 4 hours to cook and I work an 8-hour day. What’s a girl to do?

Dig out the Christmas decorations, of course.

My beloved light timer that I use for holidays (I love having the tree all lit when I come home from work) and on vacations (to discourage unsavories from raiding my abode) could do the trick. I simply set the time of a morning, tell it to turn on X hours before I will be home, plug the crockpot into it and voila – timing crisis averted.

Do you have any simple tricks you use to get dinner on the table in a timely fashion?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Keryl permalink
    January 29, 2010 7:43 am

    Yeah, it’s called take-out! 😛

  2. mike permalink
    January 29, 2010 8:14 am

    What a wonderful hostess. Now if you have unsavories raiding the abode they will get a hot meal. Your ideas and decorating trends are a real treat. Hope you keep it going with the creative thoughts.

  3. Linda permalink
    January 29, 2010 9:47 am

    would never have thought of that. Guess that practical side comes from someone other than your mother!

  4. January 29, 2010 9:55 am

    Make reservations?

    I love your creativity, Anne. One of today’s great thinkers . . . I think. 🙂

  5. unknowntheartist permalink
    January 30, 2010 11:01 pm

    We go hard on our slow cooker in winter because after 8 hours at work every day, neither of us wants to prepare and cook a meal but in summer, our rice cooker serves us best 🙂

  6. February 5, 2010 10:51 pm

    I totally love this! I have this weird (and annoying to my husband) fear of burning down the house so I never leave the crock pot going unattended. This is what I’ve been looking for – bring on the beans!

Leave a Reply

