Skip to content

A Few of My Favorite Things

January 28, 2010
tags:

I am human. I walk around my house and notice the what ifs. What if I changed the paint color in this room? What if I had money for new countertops in the kitchen? What if we expanded our main bathroom into the garage? I notice the negatives, the things I would like to change. And I dwell on them. Bad Anne! I have to remember what a lovely home I have; how lucky I am. So, I decided to snap some photos of my favorite things in or about my home.

These poor suitcases have moved with me from Texas to Kansas to Minnesota. They have always found a spot in our home, usually as an end table. Yes, they are beat up, but I love that. I like their patina. And I like knowing that they once belonged to someone named Dorothy. My son has climbed on them repeatedly and our new puppy has chewed on them, but I can’t imagine our home without them.

I have a weakness for oil paintings. Real oil paintings, not prints or reproductions. These two hang one on top of the other in my bedroom. I love that some amateur thought enough of their work to frame it. I think enough of it to display it in my home.

This vignette greets me everyday when I come home. I like the cast iron bird perched on the hardbound books and the little succulent I have managed to keep alive for almost a year. Most of all, I like seeing my lovely, wooden knitting needles arranged like flowers in a vase.

Finally, my favorite room in the house. I love how happy and full of life my son’s room is. It is an outward manifestation of how he makes me feel. I smile every time I walk into it.

Those are my favorite things today. Tomorrow it might be my Granny Faye’s porcelain tea cups in my kitchen window seal or the professional photos of my son that line our downstairs living room or the beautiful oak & iron bed my husband generously organized as my birthday gift from everyone last year.

What do you love about your home?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Sherry permalink
    January 28, 2010 10:25 am

    I enjoyed the tour! I don’t have pictures of my favorite things, but they’re an old oak slant top desk with carving on front, my grandmother’s round oak table and chairs, and a small oak library table I paid 22.00 for at an auction in the hills of West Virginia a hundred years ago. Also a pressed back 100 yr. old chair. By the way, you’ve awakened the decorating “bug” in me. Don’t have time now, but I can be collecting things, huh? Sherry

  2. January 28, 2010 10:46 am

    Love your blog: love your suitcases! I plan to spend the day inspecting at my house with fresh eyes and considering what my “favorites” might be. Thanks for the brain food!

  3. Linda permalink
    January 28, 2010 10:47 am

    wow, so many favorite things. I love Granny’s cookware that “whistles” when things start to cook. I love a recently acquired chickdee that sits on an end table. I love the old oak icebox that has been ours since about the 3rd year of our marriage. I love the family photos on our entry hall table. And many, many more things. Yes, I’d like new this and new that, but aren’t we all blessed to have what we have! Most of all, things that have special meaning from travels we’ve had or from loved ones since gone. I love your “vignette” with the bird, knitting needles, etc. And yes, Edward’s room is a very happy place!

    • January 28, 2010 10:57 am

      I love your icebox too. It has long been a favorite of mine. I even know where I will put it in my own home if it ever becomes mine.

  4. Keryl permalink
    January 28, 2010 10:51 am

    I do love my black-and-white ’50s style dinette set: http://www.sozio.com/images/opt%20kitchen%20set%20black%20and%20white.jpg. That is definitely the best piece in my apartment!

    And then, my aunt in Birmingham fouund these adorable square Route 66 plates with black-and-white checks going around the edges. They go so perfectly with the dinette set. They just scream out for a burger and fries. (Too bad I can’t seem to find a photo of them on the web!)

    • January 28, 2010 10:58 am

      I love those old dinette sets. I am jealous that you have one.

      • Keryl permalink
        January 28, 2010 1:31 pm

        You could get one, too! I ordered it from a catalog they had at a local dinette and patio store. They came in five colors and maybe three styles for the chairs, and they had a bunch of designs for the tabletops. 😉

        I know! I know! Bathroom remodeling first!

  5. Linda permalink
    January 28, 2010 3:33 pm

    and to think I grew up with a dinette set similar to that…ours was blue, best I recall. Was so embarrassed we didn’t have a “nice” wooden table with matching hutch or sideboard. (:

  6. January 28, 2010 4:37 pm

    I love your suitcases! They make a great decoration and not to mention some extra home storage when they are not in use.

    I love my kitchen nook. Even though I don’t use it everyday, I enjoy glancing at it while I’m cooking or when I walk to the trashcan. It just brings out a smile every time.

  7. steven permalink
    February 2, 2010 5:21 pm

    Who painted the giraffe in edwards room? Really great job

Leave a Reply

