Skip to content

Picture Perfect Design – BP Logo

January 27, 2010

I love the BP logo. Is that weird? I find it cheerful and young.

It would make a yummy breakfast nook, don’t you think? Here’s the plan:

1.  A simple, modern table in clean white sets the backdrop for our room.

2.  Sunny, yellow chairs bring the first fun pop of color to the space. The bright white table paired with these lemon chairs are a cheerful combo.

3.  The BP logo reminds me so much of lemons and limes; I couldn’t help but incorporate them somehow. I love how clean and graphic these prints are (found here & here). The black frames really set the bright colors off.

4.  I love the pop art vibe of this pendant. A heavy dose of white in this room helps balance out the strong colors.

5.  What is a breakfast nook without coffee mugs? These are too cute and are in the perfect palette for our nook.

6.  Speaking of palette, I envision a chair rail in the space with white above and lime green below. Lemony yellow and black are accent colors that bring pop and humor to the space.

7.  I know there is no black in the logo, but this room needed black to set it off IMHO. I chose this dot rug because it is fun and young. Plus, I didn’t want an entirely black rug underfoot. This brings a simple pattern to the room.

What do you think? Eat here and get gas? Sorry, I couldn’t resist!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Keryl permalink
    January 27, 2010 8:35 am

    I think it’s a great concept for the kitchen! It’s very modern (which I love) yet cozy and inviting!

    Not 100 percent sure about the rug, though. The black seems so heavy next to those brighter colors. Maybe a lime green version of it instead, if the room needs a rug at all. Personally, I think it would look great with just the typical white floor tiles you see in many kitchens. 🙂

  2. Sherry permalink
    January 27, 2010 10:43 am

    I love your ideas, BUT since not all of us are young & into only modern things, what would you do with a dining nook containing my grandmother’s round, oak pedestal table & chairs from the late 1800’s and a rather traditional, but newish oak parsons table with grey metal trim that we use with it? Include window trim for a 30″ by 4′ window. I love your yellow’s and black from today’s blog… Keep up the great work!

    • January 27, 2010 12:01 pm

      I actually tend to gravitate towards wooden furniture in warm tones and things with character. I have a lot of older, wooden items in my home – some I have collected from flea markets, some are family heirlooms. Since I like wood, I rarely choose to paint it, but unifying wood with white or black paint is one option. Another choice would be to keep the wood as is but unify the pieces with paint on the walls and accessories. Installing a chair rail with a vibrant yellow below and crisp white above would look great with bright blue accents. You could put blue and white cushions on the chairs, place a vase of bluebonnets in the center of the table & hang a collection of delft plates on the wall above the parsons table.

  3. mike permalink
    January 27, 2010 11:23 am

    I enjoyed the response by Sherry. Some ideas concerning family pieces would be welcomed.

    However, great work.

  4. January 16, 2015 7:41 am

    Hello webmaster do you need unlimited articles for your page ?
    What if you could copy post from other sources, make it unique
    and publish on your blog – i know the right tool for you, just search in google:
    Loimqua’s article tool

Leave a Reply

