Skip to content

Mood Board for our Master Bath

January 26, 2010
tags:

Should the football gods bless me with a win (go Saints!), I will be doing cosmetic upgrades to our main bath. Here is the current state of things:



We have already done a couple of upgrades – the mirror and the light fixture. So, it was important that I incorporate them back into the room. I will also be keeping the existing sink to help with the budget.


Here’s what I am thinking:



1.  Wall color – robin’s egg blue. I loved it in the inspiration rooms I picked, and I have paint left over from a earlier project in this color. Budget-friendly and beautiful!


2.  I chose dark oak laminate floors for the bath. What, no white mosaic tiles? Nope. I am a mom and this choice is far more practical for a family bath. Plus, we have installed laminate flooring successfully before, but we have never tiled. Why not stick with what we know?


I plan to mimic the floor on the countertops. I will make wood countertops, distressed and then stained the same color as the floors. Several coats of polyurethane will make the tops work for a moisture rich bathroom. This will be an inexpensive way to bring some additional rustic to a room that could border on too precious otherwise.


3.  White bead board will encircle the room. I plan on having this go further up the wall than one would traditionally find so that it stops about eye level.


4.  An extra-long, white shower curtain is a simple but dramatic choice for the space.


5.  New fixtures in a satin finish update the space. I love the little dot detailing.


6.  New glass knobs will bring sparkle to the current cabinetry (which will be painted a warm white). This will help tie them to the rest of the design.


7.  I chose a new faucet that matches the aesthetic of the room better than the old one. I opted to go with a single-handle faucet and not the double-handle ones I actually prefer because single-handle will be easier for the kiddos.


8.  Finally, the mirror and light fixture remain in the space.


How does it look? My budget is $900. We are reusing the existing cabinets, sink, light fixture and mirror. Think we can do it?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Keryl permalink
    January 26, 2010 8:10 am

    I think you can do it! I like the glass knobs and the new faucet.

    You didn’t put the Saints comment in there just because you knew I’d read this, did you? (And it really should be “Geaux Saints,” like the French spelling. LOL!)

  2. mike permalink
    January 26, 2010 8:25 am

    Who dat fixin’ up a bathroom? Saints are marchin’ to Miami.

  3. steven permalink
    January 26, 2010 9:15 am

    Liking the mirror

  4. Linda permalink
    January 26, 2010 9:59 am

    I like the knobs and towel holders especially. Looks like I would like the shower curtain. Hope you get to do it!

  5. January 26, 2010 10:11 am

    I didn’t just pick the Saints for you, Keryl. I need them to win by 15 or more in order to win my $900. 🙂

    • Keryl permalink
      January 27, 2010 10:26 am

      Then, I hope they win by a huge spread! Well, I just hope they win, period! They’ve been the Aints for far too long!

Leave a Reply

