Skip to content

Inspiration File – Swoon-worthy Bathrooms

January 25, 2010
tags:

I could win some $. This financial windfall would be the result of football, which is shocking given my complete lack on knowledge on the sport. Will I invest this money or use it to take a French class? No! I will use it to remodel our main bathroom. 

The main bathroom in our home has long been a problem area for us. It needs a real remodel, like change the floor plan and possibly expand it remodel. My illegal gambling win will not cover a complete overhaul, but it will allow me to make major cosmetic changes that can get us through until we have the money (5-10 years from now) to really remodel. 

Where does any good blogger begin when contemplating a cosmetic overhaul? The worldwide web of course! Here are the bathrooms I found that made me swoon. 

Image courtesy of Canadian House and Home

 

Image courtesy of SheKnows

 

Image courtesy of Country Living

 

Image courtesy of Women's Day

 

Image courtesy of The Lettered Cottage

 

Image courtesy of Coastal Living

 

Image courtesy of Pottery Barn

 

Image courtesy of House Beautiful

 

Image courtesy of Flower Patch Farmgirl

 

Searching for bathroom images I loved was actually quite an eye-opener. There are common threads running through each bath: 

1. I guess I like white. This is odd since there is no white room in my house. White is such a clean color; it makes sense that I would gravitate to it for a bathroom. 

2. That said, I seem to also like pops of crisp, bold color. Blue, in particular, shows up repeatedly in these photos. 

3. Seven of the nine photos have small, mosaic tiles on the floors. While I love this, it isn’t as practical for a mom of a toddler with another on the way. And, again, I seem to like white on the floors. But I also seem to like the mix of white and black which is a classic flooring combo. 

Now I have some ideas on where to begin when & if I get to make over my bath. What similarities do you notice? Are there design elements you find yourself repeatedly drawn to? 

P.S. The Lettered Cottage and Flower Patch Farmgirl are two fantastic blogs that inspire me daily. They were so kind to allow me to show their work. Thanks ladies!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Linda permalink
    January 25, 2010 9:07 am

    Too bad we don’t have the claw-foot tub from the farm in Meadow. (:

  2. Linda permalink
    January 25, 2010 9:08 am

    My favorite is the third picture! Like the wood behind tub.

  3. steven permalink
    January 25, 2010 9:34 am

    Love the old school tubs. Those are dope.

  4. Keryl permalink
    January 25, 2010 10:22 am

    Personally, I like #1 and #8 (the “House Beautiful” one). I like the combinations of white and blue/turquoise. Very crisp!

  5. January 25, 2010 6:03 pm

    Yep – We definitely have the same taste! I love each and every one of these! I especially love the pops of color on the sink and tub in the first photo. Can’t wait to see what you come up with!

  6. February 14, 2010 10:16 am

    Thanks for including my inspiration bath!
    Happy Valentine’s Day!

    Layla 🙂

Leave a Reply

